Skip to content

The Update

December 29, 2011

I was glancing back at the last couple of posts that I have made (not-so-recently–bad blogger!!), and there’s this prevailing theme of adjustment and coping. The difficulty of those first few months as we dealt with colic, milk allergy, reflux, and just the general transition to a new baby was definitely not fun. I don’t remember it being that way, AT ALL, with Autumn and Lawson, but of course, I was younger, they were younger, the grandparents were younger, and life was simply not as complicated. I wasn’t working on a master’s and serving in ministry.

I had no intention of blogging today; I was merely looking for a recipe I needed for this evening. But as I skimmed over those posts, I glanced up at Truitt playing on the floor in front of me: happy, content, fun, and I realized that I couldn’t not blog about him and how different things are now that he is seven months. I owe it to to him, really.

You know that old Virginia Slims commercial? You’ve come a long way, baby? That’s Truitt. At six months, he had eight teeth, was sitting up and crawling. He’s pulling up and doing some rudimentary cruising now. His crawling is turbo packed as he chases after Lawson and Autumn, bound as he is to be in the same room with them. He will probably wind up with slightly addled brains from the number of times he falls and bonks his head during the day, determined to stand and toddle instead of remain seated. I’m thinking about getting him a helmet.

He loves mashed potatoes, yogurt, scrambled egg yolk, and pancakes, but still refuses to hold his own bottle, lazy thing. He is the first of three babies that I am actually having to baby-proof the house for, and is teaching us all every day how to be better parents and siblings as we stretch ourselves, and find that we have untapped reserves of love, patience, and humor. At least–that’s what I see. I’m sure that Autumn just sees that she’s losing computer time as she keeps an eye on Tru while I’m in the shower, and Lawson just sees that he has to keep his voice down while Tru’s napping. But whether they realize it or not, they’re learning to step outside of themselves, and put someone else’s needs first.

It’s hard to reconcile this baby who studies us thoughtfully one moment and then offers a cheeky smile with the same one who wailed miserably for a steady fifty percent of most days the first four months of his existence. It’s a miracle.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2011 7:09 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to this time of your life.
    Enjoy that cutie!

  2. December 29, 2011 8:01 pm

    Lori, good to see you posting again. We recently had a little one over for a visit and I could not believe how NOT baby proof our home is. I wondered how in the world that had happened! Wasn’t it just yesterday that I had little ones crawling all over? Amazing how that happens…..

    New ones that cry for months on end are so hard but it has been my experience that these little ones become just endearing toddlers. Mine have been anyway. Maybe because they stretched me so much those first few months of crying non stop.

    No matter what though, new babies are wonderful!!

  3. Anaise permalink
    December 30, 2011 7:54 am

    My little man arrived 5 weeks ago . . . fortunately we are NOT dealing with colic! Every day brings changes and new miracles that fill my heart to bursting. Hooray for your joy! Truitt is a beautiful baby boy, and as I sit typing and nursing simultaneously this morning, I can’t help but be grateful for this small “visit” with you today.

  4. Misty permalink
    January 3, 2012 10:54 am

    wonderful to see you again! what a fabulous picture! love learning about your new little man.

    i look back occasionally and see how much i have changed over the years of parenting. i can’t believe how these little ones can teach us about ourselves and show us just what we are capable of – both the good and bad sometimes. just how high we can reach! how high we can climb! i love having a family. i LOVE experiencing it with kindred spirits and connecting to each other while we journey.

    high five sister!

  5. January 7, 2012 9:39 am

    The little wonders of life are truly astounding, aren’t they?

    Glad to catch a glimpse of you today…

  6. January 8, 2012 1:36 pm

    Lori,

    Great blog! I came home after church today and Googled your site. Keep it up. I now I need to do better with mine.

    Buddy

  7. January 9, 2012 10:43 pm

    Thanks, Buddy! I look forward to reading it. No pressure or anything. ;)

  8. January 9, 2012 10:44 pm

    They really are, Jason. You look at these kids, and just marvel. They’re incredible.

  9. January 9, 2012 10:49 pm

    Hey, Misty! So nice to hear from you! I think we have all gotten so busy here lately. Hope everything is well in Misty-land.

    You are so right–these kids do teach us so much about our own strengths and weaknesses. They exhaust us and force us to move past that exhaustion, because as parents we simply don’t have a choice. We love them with every fiber and tissue and sinew in our bodies, and then we learn that we can love them even more. I’m right there with you–high five indeed.

  10. January 9, 2012 10:55 pm

    Anaise, I have love, love, LOVED seeing the Christmas card pics of your little man, and seeing how the girls just love him so sweetly. I’m sorry I’ve been so comment-remiss. He arrived right amidst finals and youth events and holidays and blah blah blah I’m just terrible. But he is precious. You need to post an update pic, with weight and everything. Pretty please. :)

  11. January 9, 2012 10:59 pm

    Rachel, I know, right? It’s like–“why do you like wires? You’re supposed to like this nice, plastic, Made In China toy! Please chew the toy!” I had a mother of one of my teens at church tell me that she (T.) was colicky as a baby. T. has turned into the quintessential smiling, laughing, bubbly child. I’ve never seen her unhappy, and I’ve watched her grow up. I think they’re making up for those months of misery. And you’re exactly right, colic and all, they’re sublime, and they’re perfect. You just kind of wish they’d stop crying.

  12. January 9, 2012 10:59 pm

    Thanks, Bonnie, believe me, we are!

  13. January 27, 2012 10:58 pm

    Ah, with another little one on the way, I know that those little moments are so fun, yet so fleeting. Thanks for sharing your sweet little guy’s pic AND all the FUN things he’s doing! (btw…I LOVE the name Truitt. Is it from “Jacob Have I Loved?”)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

