Skip to content

17 Years

August 6, 2012

A successful married always life requires falling in love many times, but always with the same person.

Yesterday was our 17th wedding anniversary. Just saying that makes me feel a little old. I have a daughter who will be in high school in a year, and I’ve been married for SEVENTEEN YEARS. Where in the world did the time go?

This was a really low-key anniversary for us. Duane told me, very sweetly, a little over a week ago that he wanted to take me to Charlottesville for a day of shopping and Melting Pot-ing, but we would have to wait until after the kids and I returned from our impending trip to the Outer Banks. That was pretty much the end of the discussion. I did peek online to see what the 17th anniversary gift was supposed to be–furniture! Maybe we would see something in C-ville that we both liked and the house needed. Or maybe not…at this point, gifts are not a big deal.

Sundays are always a little on the mayhem-side around here. There’s church, and lunch to follow, and then I have Youth in the afternoons. Yesterday was compounded by the heat pump’s decision to stop working around midnight Saturday, which necessitated getting a technician in midday to work on it. Our floors were covered with attic insulation as he got that working again for us (gift enough, I promise you).

When things finally calmed down for the evening, we settled in to watch the Olympics. We’d been watching for a good half-hour or so when I started paying attention to the date on the weather alert that kept flashing up above the screen. A flash flood warning was in effect until 8/6.

Ha. 8/6. That means today is 8/5, which means it’s our anniversary! DOH!

I snuck a look at Duane to see if he’d noticed.

Nope.

So…should I act all injured and hurt that he forgot our anniversary? Pull the “so…when were you planning on telling me happy anniversary” card? Or should I totally own that I had forgotten, too?

“Sooo…..happy anniversary.”

Silence. Then: “Oh.my.God.” His expression was priceless. I couldn’t stand it. I had to come clean, and I confessed that I hadn’t remembered until I noticed the date on the television.

It occurred to me as we sat and laughed over our absentmindedness that this is precisely why I love him so much. We don’t try to hide our flaws from each other, but rather lay them wide and laugh over them. What good does it do to do otherwise?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 11:43 pm

    Oh this does my heart good! I’m not the only one!!

    Still, I’d have gotten a new outfit out of it……….. or some good chocolate. ;)

  2. August 7, 2012 8:41 am

    rachel. your simply scandalous.
    love this post lori – you are a hoot. marriage is it’s own living thing – such a wonder to behold in my own life, with it’s ups and downs and twists and turns and beautiful laughter.

  3. August 7, 2012 4:31 pm

    Love it, Lori! It sounds like many anniversaries around here.

  4. Anaise permalink
    August 16, 2012 11:34 am

    Happy belated anniversary. Mine was yesterday–14 years for us. I went grocery shopping and Scott went to work . . . but we did go to lunch the day before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 517 other followers

