Skip to content

Loss.

August 12, 2012

I had this post in my head that I was all set to write today. It was hilarious, because my husband is hilarious, and it is a story that I quite honestly just cannot wait to tell you.

It is going to have to wait, though. After a long church day, I have logged on to email and Facebook to discover that a dear cyber-friend, my blogging superhero is gone. Just gone.

I stared at the email letting me know in shock for several minutes. I know my mouth was agape, and for a precious bit of time I simply could not process the information. We have a post due on 4P’s next week, I kept thinking, as if this somehow made a difference. There must be some mistake…I’m not reading this right. I logged on to Facebook and there it was, a status update from his page announcing his death. My sadness is inexpressible.

It’s like a light was snuffed out, creating a pocket of darkness.

What an amazing, bright legacy he leaves behind, though. Faulkner speaks in Absalom, Absalom making “that scratch, that undying mark on the blank face of the oblivion to which we are all doomed…” Well, I know better than to expect oblivion, but what a scratch Jason made. There will be no forgetting this incredibly gifted writer, photographer, and teacher as he makes his way into that good night.  

To see Jason’s work, link to his blog, Adventures and Misadventures of Daily Living, on my Blogroll. He was also the mastermind behind Four Perspectives, an enterprise which I have dearly loved being a part of and regret not being able to do more with in the last couple of years.

Here’s to you, Jason. We love you, and miss you already.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2012 9:18 pm

    He’s left a gaping hole in all of our hearts…………….

  2. Anaise permalink
    August 13, 2012 9:21 am

    What?????!? What happened?!?!

  3. August 13, 2012 11:51 pm

    Hi, all…fyi, I am replying to these comments in email, as they are of such a personal nature. I appreciate the comments, but more to the point, I savor the shared expressions of grief and tribute.

  4. August 14, 2012 2:54 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about Jason. I didn’t know him personally, but like many, many others I am a blog fan. Even through just a few blog interactions, I thought he seemed like such a great guy! His loss will be deeply felt by many; family, friends, students and fans alike.

  5. Supersarahann permalink
    August 19, 2012 12:23 am

    I was in shock also, even though I did not know him. His was one of the brightest lights I had come in contact with. Thanks for this, Lori.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 515 other followers

