Skip to content

One Reason Why

May 9, 2014

Today I was reminded, so sweetly, why I wanted another little one as profoundly as I did. And I believe the Lord was perhaps giving me some indication as to why he decided to bestow him upon us…hot mess that he is.

After a busy morning of errands and the gym, and another couple of hours of errands stretching out before me, I couldn’t quite stomach a lunch of McDonalds or Sonic, or wade through the Panera crowd. So I opted for a treat–an out-of-the-ordinary, weekday lunch for just Truitt and myself at O’Charleys.

We shared a booth in the bar, quietly munching on our respective yummies: chicken tenders and fries for Truitt, and a spinach salad for me. He was unusually well-behaved, shooting me smiles, eating agreeably for once, and actually sitting still instead of climbing all over the restaurant.

As I glanced down in to my salad to spear a chunk of chicken, a little hand suddenly crept around the back of my neck. I stilled. Truitt crept closer to me, saying nothing, and continued eating, his arm hanging awkwardly around my neck in what could only be a gesture of affection. It was Danny Zuko at the drive-in at his classic best, stealthily hanging an arm around his Sandy as he fake-yawned.  

Will you be my girl?

Only for forever.

Image

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2014 12:57 am

    Always and forever………

    These moments like this, are so precious and are so far and few between. They mean so much..

  2. anaiser permalink
    May 14, 2014 8:23 am

    Isn’t it funny? This very weekend is the first time my Isaac said spontaneously, “I wuv you, Mom.” These little ones! What treasures!!

  3. May 17, 2014 10:00 pm

    Yes, Rachel. These little moments can be so small, and deceptively ordinary…but what power they wield!

  4. May 17, 2014 10:03 pm

    Hi, Anaise! I’ve missed you–hope all is well with you and your lovelies. That Isaac…how precious! Be still my heart. I treasure those little moments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

