Skip to content

The Family Session: A Study in Dynamics

May 17, 2014

I’ve been working on getting back in the swing of things lately. I’m not sure why…what it is that’s driving me to write more and do more and just be more. Maybe those hypothyroidism meds kicked in all of a sudden. Maybe I just got fed up with an endless string of Pinterest pins that were mocking my eternal busy-ness. Whatever the catalyst, I am on a roll today. I wrote half a paper for my MA class, played with Truitt and took care of his essential needs for food and drink, wiped down the counters, bought groceries, prepped for and got stood up for a photo shoot, and–my crowning achievement–managed to corral the fam for my own photo shoot that lasted all of ten minutes.

By the grumbles heard round the county, you would think that I had yanked them all out of bed for a sunrise session, forced them to take shower beforehand and fix hair and make-up, put on matching Christmas outfits, and pose naked in the snow with the Easter bunny. And maybe a goat or something.

But no.

I merely requested their presence next to a window for a few minutes, so each child could press his or her cheek against their father’s for all of 30 seconds while I snapped a button.

“You want me to do want?!” (Touch him.)

“His face is scratchy!” (Yes…just a little closer, please, in order to close that 3 foot gap between your faces.)

“I can’t contort like that!” (Like…sitting on your knees? And leaning close? Weren’t you a gymnast?)

“How much longer?” (Well, let’s see, we’ve finished one child and we have two more, so that much time twice more.)

“MOMMMMMMMEEEEEE! Want to sit on Mommmmmeeeeee!” (Okay, bud, but…..just fuhgeddaboudit.)

It’s a good thing I knew exactly what I wanted, and had my camera set precisely to grab the shot. I took five shots, and these three were golden. Now…to figure out who’s going to take the ones with the kids and myself… ;-)

ImageImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2014 11:06 pm

    Giggling. I’m glad you’re back and ‘feelin’ it’! The photos are wonderful. When you do figure out how to get your photos in there……. I can’t wait!!

  2. anaiser permalink
    May 25, 2014 9:19 pm

    Golden . . . you’re sure not kidding. Those pictures are priceless!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

