Skip to content

ToddlerDome

June 18, 2014

I think my Facebook posts over the past couple of days will say all that needs to be said about my totally awesome and enviable existence.

Tuesday, June 17

Okay. So I thought I was doing alright with this parenting thing, give or take a few moments. That was right up until Truitt took a dump on the floor today.

Can I just say that potty training sucks? I can practically see the wheels spinning in Tru’s little mind, muttering fiercely “MY way, woman, and on MY time.”

Wednesday, June 18

10:16 and still not asleep. “I need my gac.”
“Your gac? What’s that?”
“My gac.” (As he gives me the “duh” face.)
“What’s it look like?”
“It’s got a blue window and little wheels.”
So we looked, for fifteen minutes, for something that fit the description. “Is it a car?”
No, it’s a gac.”
“Is it a tractor?”
“No, it’s a gac.”
“Is it
this?” I asked, holding up an oddly shaped Cars character.
“Noooo, it’s a gac.”
Finally, Truitt holds a jet plane aloft triumphantly. “My GAC!”
“A jet?”
“Yeah! My GAC!”

Oh. Well, okay.

A brief while later, he’s still wide open. We can hear him over the monitor increasing steadily in volume while Lawson murmurs steadily in a monotone from the other twin, “go to sleep, Truitt. Leave me alone, Truitt. Be quiet, Truitt.”

It’s Duane’s turn. He goes into the bedroom and begins confiscating toys. Over the monitor I hear him say “I’m going to put your truck up now.”
“That’s not a truck. That’s a ambulance.” (Duh.)
“O-kay. I’m going to put your ambulance up now. Say goodnight to the ambulance.”
“No. Ambulances don’t talk.”

*sigh*

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 19, 2014 12:14 am

    He’s one of those kids you love reading the stories about but as your own kid…….. GAC!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

