Skip to content

Monday Morning Blahs

February 9, 2009
Lawson fixing his toothbrush

Lawson fixing his toothbrush

It was another typical Monday morning when I awoke fifty-seven times before the alarm actually went off, wondering whether or not I could somehow wake up the kids, pack their lunches, make their breakfasts, get them ready for school, referee every little argument that was certain to break out between them, and maybe still manage to stick my head back under the blankets for a quick snooze in the forty-five minutes we had before we had to leave the house.

Somehow I didn’t think it possible. So, four minutes before the alarm was set to play some rockin’ country music, I dragged my bootie into the frigid air of the morning house, slipped my toes into my waiting fleece-lined crocs, and began the morning routine. First: pee. Second, turn up the heat.  Third, let the dog out. Set breakfast of champions out for the kids. Pack lunches. Pick up uniforms from top of dryer. Wake urchins. Pop a waffle in the toaster for my own sustenance, and finally, sit myself down on the couch so I can monitor the rush.

While Autumn is my get-up-and-go child, Lawson is pretty funny in the morning. The first thing he does after waking and dressing (with the bedroom door securely closed, of course–don’t want to offend that six year old modesty!) is to turn the tv on, full blast. I always have to take a trip by it and turn it down a few decibels. Then he’ll lay across his stool in the kitchen, breakfast and everything else forgotten for a while, while he wakes up. He used to do this in the bathroom, sprawled out on the floor in front of the heater, for around twenty minutes or so, until I caught on. I don’t let him get dressed in the bathroom anymore–he was making us late to school. 🙂

I think I’ve decided, since I have to get up anyway, I might as well go to work.

Nah, in all seriousness, I’ve been on both sides of it, for some time. I’ve been in the classroom, confined by the strictures of the teacher’s schedule, and I’ve been blessed to be home and have a much more flexible work-from-home schedule with homebound and journalism. There’s always been this big debate over which is better–to stay home or to work? Both have their ups and downs. I think it’s a question of who you are as an individual that truly determines which is better. Some people are not cut out to be stay-at-home moms, while others shine at it. While I love the peace and haven of my home, I have a difficult time disciplining myself to do the management of keeping a house. On the flip side, I embrace the management of keeping a classroom.

Autumn eating breakfast.

Autumn eating breakfast.

I guess my point is that you must be honest with yourself about what you love, and then you must go after it. Life’s too short to do otherwise. You cannot carry an idealized version of what you want your life to be like, and then be disappointed when it doesn’t match the reality. I’m not a 100% sure that the classroom is “it,” but I do know that staying home and pondering the issue isn’t getting me much closer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

