Skip to content

New Me

February 26, 2009
This one's for you, Linds! :)

This one's for you, Linds! 🙂

It’s back to brunette for me–or rather, a nice deep nutmeggy shade, rich with caramelly highlights and deep lowlights throughout. I tried going back to blonde, which, for those of you who do not know me, is my natural color, and Mallory (my amazing stylist at Sage Tryall) and I almost managed to get it back to it’s semi-natural shade–just a few shades darker. I just can’t do it! I don’t know if it’s the abbreviated attention span I’ve developed as an adult (ooh, look! a kitty!) or the simple fact that I really think genetics sort of messed up and I honestly believe I look better with dark hair. Combine that with the facts that A) my husband actually notices that I Had Something Done B) people assume I’m smart instead of a dumb blonde, and C) I can get my eyebrows done and not look strange, and I am all about the brunette.

Isn’t it amazing what a good cut and style will do for you? I mean, I don’t even care so much about how much it costs–although THANK YOU, BARBARA, FOR  MY BIRTHDAY GIFT CERTIFICATE!! It is well worth the money to walk out of that salon feeling energized, rejuvenated, and beautiful…even if it’s only until the next morning when you realize that there’s no way on earth that you’re going to get the same results with your flat iron and hair spray as that stylist, and you give up, and do the same thing that you’ve been doing for the last six months.

I get a lot of questions about why I go to a salon that charges so much (it’s around $140 for a cut, color, and style–and then of course your tip on top of that). My answer: totally worth it.  I’ve suffered through a lot of Bad Hair-dos in my day, ranging from my mother’s bang bowlcuts as a child to color jobs that turned green over a period of time after interacting with our well-water, and it’s definitely not pretty. When I come here, I know I’m going to walk out more than Okay…I’m going to walk out Gorgeous. That piece of mind is worth any price.

Every six weeks when I come in for my appointment, Mallory gives me this cute little sideways look. “What are we doing different this time, my dear?” she’ll ask, with a quirk of her eyebrows. She’s this darling little twenty-something with huge brown eyes, a mod hair-style cut on a bias–black with a streak of pink running through it–who always listens carefully to the change I want to effect this time. She’ll nod as I show her around six or seven different photos in a magazine, and then end with, “but I don’t really know. You just do something. I trust you.” She’ll laugh at me, motion Suzy, the owner, over and say, “you’ll never guess what this crazy woman wants to do this time…” They’ll laugh, tease me for my fickleness, commend me for my bravery and willingness to try new things…and then do it. And always beautifully.

New pic to be posted soon. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 12:35 pm

    I love, love, love Sage Tryall. Couldn’t really afford it back when I still lived in the area. But the few times I could, it was always worth it.

    Can’t wait to see the new color!

Leave a Reply

