Skip to content

Getting It Done :)

February 27, 2009

Thursday. Finally—a day off from teaching. I already had it all mapped out when I woke up: it was finally time to paint my closet, a task I had been trying to accomplish since Christmas.

 

I had actually started painting my closet this past weekend, with a can of paint leftover from painting the master bedroom. I had already pulled everything out of the closet and stacked it haphazardly along one end of the bedroom, blocking access to my chest of drawers and half of the room. But that was alright; I figured I’d paint the closet fairly quickly (how long could it take?) get everything moved back in with the nifty little closet organizers that I’d been buying up over the course of the last couple of months, and be done with it.

 

It’s funny how things don’t always work out as you plan. I got around halfway finished and ran out of paint. Can we just say Immense Frustration? Then, of course, I acquired a new homebound student, had to start teaching, and my time has pretty much been filled ever since, so I’ve had all of the contents of my closet sitting out in the bedroom—around fifty pairs of shoes, empty hangers, shopping bags, suitcases, innumerable shirts, slacks, dresses, sweaters, jeans…you name it, it’s right out there in the open.

 

Needless to say, despite how much I despise painting (and that only because my dear husband refuses to paint and always makes me do it) I was really looking forward to Thursday. With a fresh can of paint, the closet was complete in under a couple of hours, and all that was left to do was assemble the remainder of the organizers and get my junk back in the closet, considerably thinned.

 

You know how it seems like every morning you stand in your closet and look blankly at your clothes and it honestly feels like you have nothing to wear? Well, I think that in some cases, it’s because you have nothing to wear. After paring down the contents of my closet—determining what needed to go to Goodwill, what needed to go to consignment, what needed to go, period…I think I ended up with three pairs of jeans, three sweaters, four winter shirts, and around five spring/summer shirts. I have around four spring/summer dresses that actually fit me, and two fall winter dresses, along with two or three pair of slacks. I cheated and left some stuff in there that I probably won’t wear, but I just couldn’t bear how empty it was looking. I’m wearing the same thing over and over again! Ack! Not acceptable!

 

My reward for getting my closet cleaned out, painted, and organized? Yup. I’m going shopping, girls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

