Skip to content

From the Mouths of Babes: War and Work

March 8, 2009

When I made my way into the family room this evening around 8:30, lugging a laundry basket piled high with clothes ready to be folded and put away, Lawson and Duane were sacked out on the couch, watching one of their favorite hunting shows. I started clearing space on the floor so I could sit down and spread out, as my favorite spot to do laundry is in front of the television. Lawson, being Lawson, piped up, “Mommy, why are you doing all the work?”

 

We busted up. In the midst of laughter and Duane telling him to hush up, I told him that I’d kind of been wondering the same thing, myself, all day long. After all, I’d just spent the entire weekend working on painting the bathroom (still not done, but a good start!), multiple loads of laundry (also still not done), cleaning the kitchen, running the kids here and there, and numerous other little tasks. (And let me say that it seems especially unfair considering that I’m not even the one who puts stickers on the wall, colors on the wall, and rests dirty metal gunstocks and bows up against the wall, that I am the sole one that repaints them.)

 

And what is the rest of the family doing while I toil and sweat and labor arduously all weekend long? They’ve been playing. War. Nerf War, to be precise. Each opponent is allotted three bullets, and when they have all been fired, they have to return them. Only Lawson and Autumn kinda sorta like to hang on to them and rapid fire as many as they can at poor defenseless Daddy when he runs out of ammunition. Wonder where they learned such tactics?

 

Lawson: Daddy in his sights.

Lawson: Daddy in his sights.

Do you see how many bullets he has, the little booger?

 

 

...and whoop up on him.

...and whoop up on him.

 

Still whooping.

Still whooping.

Poor Izzy-bizzy. She's kind of used to scenes like this at our house, though.

Poor Izzy-bizzy. She's kind of used to scenes like this at our house, though.

The tide turns when Autumn joins the fray.

The tide turns when Autumn joins the fray.

Poor Daddy. Doesn't have a prayer. I think it was white flag around this time...

Poor Daddy. Doesn't have a prayer. I think it was white flag around this time...

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

