Skip to content

Body Shop to Close At Home Division :(

March 18, 2009

Many of you are aware that for the past several years I have been an independent consultant with The Body Shop At-Home. At-Home, if you’re not familiar with it, is simply a “party sales” type of distributorship for The Body Shop products, which you’ve probably seen in airports and shopping centers in larger cities. I got into Body Shop because it was a product that I valued personally and believed in, and while I never pushed the product or my business, or even really treated it as much of a business, it has done pretty well—enough that I managed to make a (very small) profit last year in spite of myself.  If you’re unfamiliar with Body Shop, it is truly an amazing product line. It’s been around for close to thirty years, and sells nature-inspired skincare, bath and body, and beauty products that are actually good for your skin.

 

We consultants have just received notice that The Body Shop is closing the doors on its At-Home branch of the business. I’d like to stress immediately that it is just the At-Home branch in the United States that is closing; the retail, online, and UK branches will continue to function as is. The reasoning behind the US closure was explained as follows,

 

“The goal of opening The Body Shop At Home™ channel in the US was to create a sustainable and profitable party-selling business for all stakeholders, consultants included. Considerable and continuous efforts have been invested over the years to improve the performance of The Body Shop At Home ™ in the US, but the reality is that it is not sustainable, growing or profitable for The Body Shop, or for the majority of our consultants.

Compared to our competitors in the US direct-selling environment, we are a small operation in consultant numbers and market share, and as such it has been particularly challenging for The Body Shop At Home ™ in the US to be sustainable.   Following an extensive review, where we have explored possible alternatives to closure, we have decided that the only responsible course of action is, indeed, to close the business.”

 

I personally think part of the problem with this was the readily available access to Body Shop products in stores and online. Every other direct sales business I’ve seen has been successful, I believe, due to its exclusivity and the fact that a customer had to go through a consultant in order to get the product. Consider such companies as Longaberger, Mary Kay, Southern Living At Home, and others. With the US economy in the state that it is, people are not going to request that their friends attend a show to purchase a product when they can just as easily purchase it themselves from a website or in a retail store, no strings attached.

 

I, however, am going to ask you to think about doing just that.

Before the At-Home branch closes on April 30th, you have the opportunity to earn a minimum of $60 free with only $100 in sales.

$100 in sales is SO EASY to get. I do this myself just about every month, to restock and get samples. How does it work?

 

1—

 

Get together with a buddy or two that you think might be interested in the products. Click on the link to my Body Shop website and browse products.

 

2—

 

Place your individual orders directly through the website. You’ll place an order just like you would with any other online retail establishment, and everything is secure and verified.

 

3—

 

Send me an email to me at hintonrae@msn.com letting me know A) who is serving as hostess and therefore gets hostess benefits ($60 free) B) which orders belong with the show order and C) what you would like for the $60 free. It’s perfectly fine, too, to exceed $60 as long as you pay the difference.

 

4—

 

Your products will be shipped directly from the Body Shop to you.

 

Since your address is then in the system (if you’re not already a customer) you will now be eligible, as an At-Home customer, to receive a “Love Your Body” card. A Love Your Body Card entitles you to 10% off of all purchases for a year in all Body Shop stores and online, as well as many other discounts and benefits. If you are a current customer and are interested in receiving this card, please email me and I will make sure that you receive one.

 

Finally, to all of my customers who have been with me the past few years: THANK YOU SO MUCH for allowing me to serve as your consultant. I have enjoyed every minute of introducing you to this great product line, and it is my deep desire that you continue to find other avenues of using it.

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 5:08 pm

    Hi there,
    I don’t have your name, but am so sorry to hear about your business closing. I am sure you will be busy in the next couple of months, doing customer care to all your clients, but when the dust settles, I also love what I do, similar to you. Spa parties with Sensaria Natural Bodycare. I would love to share it with you,
    Feel free to contact me.
    Sincerely, Teresa spamom

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    March 18, 2009 6:20 pm

    Thanks, Teresa–(name’s Lori)–I’m not sure at this point if I’ll be getting back into a direct sales business (it’ll probably be nice to not do anything 😉 but I’d love for you to direct me to some information on your product. It sounds great.

  3. March 18, 2009 10:15 pm

    Dear Lori,

    I am so sorry to hear about BSAH’s closing. How devastating! I learned about it yesterday when I was contacted by a leader within your company asking for information about the company I represent, BeautiControl. She has a team of 50 that she is looking for another Spa company for and BeautiControl is one of two she is seriously looking into. We became a division of Tupperware in 2000 and have been the leading at home spa company since 1979. I know it is probably too soon to think about joining another company, but when and if the time is right, please consider us. My website is http://www.beautipage.com/anchoragespaescape. Best wishes, Ann Chase

  4. hintonrae permalink*
    March 19, 2009 5:56 am

    Thanks, Ann. It’s okay–I got into Body Shop not so much because I wanted a product to sell but more because I really liked their line and thought it would be a great way to receive a discount on something I was going to be purchasing personally. I loved that we were not required to carry inventory, submit minimum orders (customers can order anything, anytime, direct from our personal website), and the only minimum they had was $67 per quarter (or something like that), so I never felt any pressure to sell.

  5. April 1, 2009 4:18 pm

    Lori,

    I am sorry to hear about BSAH’s closing. It sounds as if the company is handling as best they can, and offering as much as possible to the consultants who tried so hard to grow the brand through home parties. Earlier this year I was with a home party plan that merged with another… and I found myself out there looking for something new. If you decide to consider other companies, I would love to share Wildtree with you. We offer a line of food products (culinary blends, mixes, grapeseed oils, etc) that are all 100% natural ~ free of MSG, dyes, etc ~ and they are delicious. At the time when my former company made their merger announcement, I was crushed. However… I believe things happen for a reason, and it has been a fantastic move for me. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I’ve been reading your blog for little while now and know you enjoy cooking, so just wanted to mention it. (www.christinep.mywildtree.com)

    Have a fabulous day!

  6. December 11, 2009 7:26 pm

    Waow loved reading your blogpost. I added your feed to my reader!!

  7. Lori permalink*
    December 11, 2009 11:29 pm

    Thanks so much! I look forward to blogging with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

