Skip to content

Random but Cute

March 20, 2009

winter3

Lawson told me this afternoon, “Mommy, I asked Santa for a cell phone and he didn’t bring me one.”

 

O-kay. Welcome to the Totally Random World of Lawson. Only he would be thinking about what Santa failed to bring on the first day of spring.

 

“Well, Lawson, just because you ask for it doesn’t mean Santa is going to bring it. I mean, look at Autumn. She asked for a diamond necklace and Santa sure didn’t bring that.”

 

“I asked for a skateboard, too, and he didn’t bring me one of those, either.”

 

“Okay.”

 

“I also asked him for a basketball goal and he didn’t bring that, either.”

 

I was getting a little squirmy in the hot—I mean front—seat of the car. “So, what you’re saying is that Santa needs to do a better job?” I heard myself asking. Inwardly I was hearing my own mother. Can’t you just be thankful for what you have? Starving children in Africa don’t have skateboards and cell phones, either!

 

Lawson nodded definitively. “Yes. That’s exactly what I’m saying.”

 

“Okay.” I consciously forced my molars to unclench. “I’ll pass along the message.” In the rearview mirror, I could see Lawson grin, a big cheesy grin that deepened the dents in his cheeks.

 

“Thanks, Mommy.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ceetindall permalink
    March 20, 2009 6:55 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how just letting our little ones vent about what they are thinking and neutrally answering like you did, makes them feel validated and important? I say good job, mom! It’s so hard to keep our mouths shut in these times. He really didn’t CARE that he got these things, he was just musing that Santa didn’t bring them…. Interesting.

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    March 20, 2009 9:18 pm

    Very true, Cee! Lawson in particular really likes to state that opinion “for the record”…a lot like his mom, I suppose. 🙂

Leave a Reply

