Skip to content

Crup.

March 31, 2009

Crup. Crad. Cruppy. Craddy. Momma said there’d be days like this. Days where your fever hovers most of the time around 103, but you do the laundry and and the dishes anyway, because that’s what Moms do. And you drag yourself into the shower and out, and even apply make-up and wield the hairdryer, because there is No Way you are walking your tail into that school to pick up the kiddos looking like crup, even if that’s the way you feel.

 

I’m not sure how I’ve gone from not being sick a single blessed time in the last three years to being sick five different times since this past November, now with a lovely sinus and bladder infection (yes, I feel like I’ve been run over by a truck, only to see it pause, shift into reverse, and back over me again for good measure). I guess all the germs and bacteria are catching up with me all at once.

 

But that’s okay, because Lawson, bless his heart, went out in the yard and spent about an hour plucking weeds and pansies for me and shoving the wilted blossoms into a Ziploc baggie so they’d last a really long time. He gave them to me a little later, ‘cuz I wasn’t feeling good.

flowers

 

Duane gave me a great laugh with his Swamp Thing impersonation. At first I couldn’t figure out what he reminded me of as he stood there in his gillie suit—I could’ve sworn it was a flashback to a Scooby Doo episode. Then it hit me. Swamp Thing. Not every woman has a man that can channel Swamp Thing.

swamp-thing

 

Izzy gave me TLC the way only a chihuahua can do–with a cuddle. And Autumn blessedly cleaned her bedroom.

izzy

But anyway—thanks for reading, even when there’s nothing to read. I’ll try to do better when I’m feeling more human, I promise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cee permalink
    April 3, 2009 8:37 pm

    I’ve been dealing with that crup too. Love the word.

    OH, every gift you got from your family was equal to a huge bouquet of a dozen roses! Your family loves you!

    It was something to read, by the way…. it is your life! People care who read your blog!

    Get feeling better!

Leave a Reply

