Skip to content

Mis-Rating the Marley

April 8, 2009

Okay, I have to vent a little.

 

I decided to treat the kids to a dollar movie yesterday afternoon. It was a toss up between Marley and Me and Pink Panther 2, but Marley and Me had the more convenient time slot and thus won the lottery. We’d been wanting to see it for quite a while, despite hearing rumors of Marley dying at the end.

 

We settled in with our popcorn and nachos, ready for another Lassie or Old Yeller (man, it’s been a while since we’ve had one of those, hasn’t it?), and I will say in all honesty that I really, truly, loved this movie, and that’s saying something, because animal movies normally really pluck my last sentimental nerve.  This was less an “animal movie,” though, than a movie about a relationship and a movie about a family growing and changing with time. From a writer’s standpoint, I loved that Grogan adapted his daily column from his real-life experiences with Marley and his family.

 

I was very disappointed, however, with how the movie had been rated. It was rated PG, but after viewing it, I’m thinking it probably should have received a PG-13 rating. In hindsight, I am not certain this is a movie I would have taken the kids to see…and yes, that might make me a bit prudish or protective or whatever, but the omnipresent references to sex really kind of destroyed the PG quality of the movie and kept me on edge for the preservation of my children’s innocence.

 

For example—Jenny says things frequently like “we haven’t had sex in a while…wanta have sex now?” and “you have a hot naked woman waiting on you” as she sprawls invitingly across the bed…along with my personal favorite, as this instigated quite an “eyes wide open” response from the little man, “Are you ready for the rest of your birthday present?” (as she drops her cute little sundress, poolside, and cannonballs in, followed, of course, by an eager hubby. Lawson is in the seat beside me, whispering loud enough for the entire theater to hear, “is she naked? Is she naked?” I roll my eyes. “No, Lawson. She’s wearing a bathing suit, I swear. It’s just invisible.” “Oh.” (Huge disappointment in his voice, poor chap. I mean, where do they learn this stuff? It has to be instinctual.)

 

Parental Guidance is one thing. I think they really lowered the bar on this one, though. I think most of us have a pretty good idea of what to expect when we take our young children to see a PG movie, and having to deliver the Sex Talk to a six and ten year old afterwards is really not in the cards (for me, at any rate).

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 3:05 pm

    Found your blog through my friend Teachinfourth who showed me your fake tooth post. Hilarious. Anyway, I love your writing style and continued to read… just had to say I rented this movie for my kids last night and wish I read your post before that. I finally turned it off and said, “Time for bed!” because I couldn’t agree more that the sexual references made it a bit awkward.

    I enjoy your stories. Thanks for writing.

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    April 17, 2009 4:35 pm

    Gerb–thanks so much for the comment and the compliment. I appreciate both. I visited your blog last night after hearing about through teachinfourth (what a handle–so mysterious!) and enjoyed it…found myself lingering even though I was half brain-dead with paint fumes and exhaustion. 🙂 I fully plan on going back when I have time to sit and read more of your posts. It’s so cool to find like minds online…especially through something as random as Condron.

    As for the movie–I’ve had similar experiences with several other movies, and rarely have time to preview them anymore these days (although I did use to do that). I’m thinking about starting another blog dedicated to reviews of various pop culture mediums such as movies (both in theater and on DVD), books, music, etc, and inviting guests to post reviews as well as I. May get a bit tricky with the guest reviews, but I suppose I can see how that aspect of it goes. Let me know your thoughts–

    –Lori

Leave a Reply

