Skip to content

The Shower

April 16, 2009

I finished painting the hall and the den tonight around 7:30 after roughly eleven hours of labor, give or take an hour out here and there to pick the kids up from school and so forth.

I cannot describe the immense pleasure it was to step into a steaming hot shower and scrub the paint from my skin and nail beds. I didn’t realize how badly I had been itching to do so until I was there, with scrubby gloves from the Body Shop and a clean smelling shower gel…I didn’t even stop to dilly-dally, as I usually do, over which smelly gel I preferred tonight. Whichever one was already in the shower would do. Ivory Spring Soap would do, for that matter. I just wanted some suds.

I should probably stop there, hmm?

You see, though, I am a really, terribly, awfully, no good, very bad, extremely messy painter. In fact, when I went to the grocery store today to buy some lunch for the crew that was helping me (THANK YOU, NICKY!!!) the lady at the register gave me an ultra-concerned look and asked, “Have you been…?” as though I had been (gasp!) drinking or something.

 I winked at her. “Yep.” Looked pointedly down at my ensemble, a faded Life is Good tee and old-as-the-hills track pants that were quite liberally splattered with paint of all different shades. “And I have the clothes to prove it.”

She looked relieved. “I thought so! You’re usually one of our better dressed customers…”  O-KAY.

I spray painted an old cabinet today in addition to all of the other stuff, so I was coated with a filmy, grayish cast from where the breeze kept wafting the black paint back on me. To make matters worse,  every time I blew my nose, I’d blow nasty black stuff out. (Hopefully I won’t keel over and croak from the inhalation.) I just felt grimy. Inside and out. So that shower was long overdue and highly anticipated.

At any rate–that’s five rooms down, five to go. Knocking it out. “One by one,” as the creepy little girl from Harper’s Island would say. ‘Night, all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 9:38 am

    There’s something to be said about a new coat of paint and what it can do for a home. Last night I was helping a friend paint a bedroom (I was only doing the edging) but it reminded me of when I painted my entire house over a year ago. I wouldn’t wish that on anyone; however, it does look great.

    Good luck with the rest of your project.

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    April 17, 2009 8:52 pm

    So glad to know that it wasn’t you who wished this “whole house” project on me…I’m about halfway home and will be soooo glad when it’s done. It is definitely worth it, though.

  3. April 17, 2009 9:13 pm

    Hi! I was painting a bunch today also-the dolhouse. I will post a photo when we are all done.

  4. hintonrae permalink*
    April 17, 2009 9:53 pm

    I can’t wait to see it–that actually sounds like fun painting!

Leave a Reply

