Skip to content

Whine Fest

April 22, 2009

What a crup week it has been already. Cases in point:

1–The Shiner

I have a beautiful shiner, compliments of a two-hundred pound man toppling me on the volleyball court last night. I should specify a two-hundred pound man’s elbow, as it was that which caught my eye sockey most particularly. To make matters worse, it was the tournament and the first blinking play of the game. The ball had been in play for all of thirty seconds when Jordan went up for a non-existent block and I went down to retrieve the dink. When gravity caught him, he didn’t realize that I was under him. Due to various bleeding abrasions and instant swelling, I wasn’t able to keep playing. I hate not playing.

2–The Broken Spectacles

Jordan the Spaz broke my ultra-expensive, ultra-favorite Chanel glasses when he gave me the black eye. These are the only glasses that I have, as I have somehow managed to lose my backup cheapos. They have also managed to last me around three years–a record for me, as I have a way of losing or breaking every other pair that I get. So now I get to go out and buy a new pair of glasses.

3–The Bridesmaid Dress

I have to drive forty-five minutes today to Roanoke to do my final fitting for my bridesmaid dress. Now, let me just state that this dress is for the wedding for my BELOVED friend Shelley. Shelley whom I love. And I am excited to be a part of Shelley’s day. And the dress is gorgeous…truffle in color, long…and it’s actually pretty flattering, as bridesmaid’s dresses go–cause you know some of those things are ugly. But you know, I’m, like thirty-four years-old. I feel kind of old when I put on a bridesmaid’s dress. I’m looking at the exposed skin and seeing some wrinkles that I hadn’t realized were there, and thinking, man, I either need to go to a tanning bed (which is going to create new wrinkles) or just develop a really thick skin and Suck It Up.

And to make this scenario worse, I’m bloated today, so the dress is going to be too tight, which means those ladies are going to give me That Look, because dang it, I was bloated last month too. I can’t help it! It was exactly one freaking month ago that I was up there for the other fitting, and we all know what that means. Do the math. Do it. I dare you.

And, oh, I can make this one even worse. Last month, when I was up there, I kept having to stop the lady from sticking pins in me and sit down, because I felt like I was going to pass out. I felt so sick! I was miserable. This happened over, and over, and over again–probably ten times or more. We finally got through the fitting, and I made it to the doctor’s and discovered that I had a 103 degree fever due to a simultaneous bladder and sinus infection. So I’m going to go in today, and they are going to remember my dread illness from before, and see the black eye today, and probably think I’m the victim of spousal abuse or something. It just doesn’t get any better than this.

 

There are other things, as well, far more significant than these. They involve people other than just myself, though, so I’m not going to say too much about them, other than this, “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

And: “I tell you, do not worry. Don’t worry about your life and what you will eat or drink….Look at the birds of the air. They don’t plant or gather crops. They don’t put away crops in storerooms. But your Father who is in Heaven feeds them. Aren’t you worth much more than they are?” (Matthew 6:25-34)

And: “Trust in the Lord, and do good; so will you live in the land, and enjoy security. Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act. Be still before the Lord, and wait patiently before him.”  (Psalm 37: 3-5, 7a)

Now…all that said, there’s something to be said for venting! I invite you to vent and whine freely in the comments section. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 7:32 pm

    I simply have to comment on this, but first wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog today.
    It’s awesome that you play volleyball but I’m sorry about the shiner, although glad for you that it didn’t happen the day before the wedding.
    Your 34 year-old skin is beautiful. You may not think it now, but when you’re 52 (as I am), you will wish that you could have that skin back!!
    And finally, I hope the best for whomever it is that you’re praying for. Take care.

  2. April 23, 2009 1:53 pm

    This is an answer to your question about the actions you downloaded from Pioneer Woman.
    Did you put them into your Photoshop program? Are they there in the actions palette on the right of the screen? If you’re not sure, you could always leave a comment over on PW’s Photography tab. She usually always answers questions like that, especially when they pertain to her actions. The only thing is that you’ll have to keep checking back to see if she’s answered you.
    I’m at my work computer and don’t have PS in here, but I downloaded her sets onto my desktop and then in the action palette, there’s a triangle thing at the bottom (I think). I clicked on that and it brought up a whole lot of things I could do. One of them was to download an action set, so I found it on the desktop and did it that way. I really hope this helps. I’d be able to ‘splaiin it better if I had the comuter in front of me!

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    April 23, 2009 9:11 pm

    Thanks, Kate! I will try all of this and let you know what I am able to come up with. I did install them into Photoshop, and everything looks like it loaded properly, so I’m probably going to have to ask Ree for some help. I hate to bother her, but I definitely want to be able to use her gift.

Leave a Reply

