Skip to content

YAY. Well, sort of.

April 23, 2009

What a loooong day of computer/camera/net issues it has been. I have spent the last five and a half hours trying to figure out how to connect my camera successfully to my computer. I have slogged through uploading this, installing that, uninstalling that, reinstalling that, speaking please-speakee-english to reps in out-of-the-way places in an effort to resolve seemingly endless software compatibility issues.

I have come to a couple of conclusions.

1–Windows Vista stinks.

2–Sony apparentlyhas no love for Windows Vista, because they designed their software to function on the outs with it.

But anyway…all that’s over with. Software cozily installed, munching on cookies. And I have a few brief video segments of Autumn’s competition, ready to be uploaded at last. It took me a while of converting the HD format to WMV, and then figuring out that WordPress doesn’t support WMV, but I finally just uploaded them to Youtube. I’m going to put those links on this post and if you are so inclined, and the slightest bit curious about what my girl does at all of these competitions, or what precisely a “double-mini” is, have a look. They’re pretty short.

As far as I can tell, you may have to actually copy the link into a new browser window instead of simply clicking on it. Don’t ask me, the computer illiterati, why. It is what it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xsNe6XViMnc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAKZFCGe4w0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QJjSKZeU-M
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTZI2QUryXY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ln8CT5YmcPg
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5BS5AlxptM

5 Comments leave one →
  1. hintonrae permalink*
    April 23, 2009 9:05 pm

    Whoops! Disregard that last sentence. Not so computer illiterate after all. 🙂

  2. April 23, 2009 11:20 pm

    Wow, I am impressed…she has got some serious skills! Videos 3 & 4 blew me away. She’s only ten?

    On a lighter note, glad to hear that your computer is finally up and running…I can TOTALLY relate on that topic. As for your videos, have folks simply hold down the CTRL key and click them. It will open them in a new tab using Firefox.

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    April 24, 2009 1:34 pm

    Thanks–3 and 4 are the “rod floor tumbling,” and that is definitely Autumn’s strong suit. Her coach refers to her as her “pint-sized powerhouse.” She consistently blows us away. I just learned how to do a back-handspring on a springy surface when I was around 30 (and I wouldn’t care to do it again these days) so I think she’s pretty incredible. Lawson is our goober that keeps us cracking up and smiling; Autumn is our diva superstar. We’ll see where they go with their individual God-given talents and gifts.

    And I’ll remember to post the Ctrl-click trick next time–that’s great. Thanks for the tip, and any others that you know of–please advise!

  4. Lesley Thompson (Grandma) permalink
    April 27, 2009 9:51 am

    Way to go Autumn! Wish I could be there in person though. I am soooo proud of you ! Everyone at work just watched you perform and they are very impressed! Keep it up and GOOD LUCk!! Love you much!!
    Grandma

  5. May 1, 2009 3:05 pm

    OH my gosh, She is incredible! What a powerhouse INDEED! I was so amazed how FAST she cold to the ‘rod floor tumbling’ wow!

    I’m so glad you got the computer stuff figured out. I so understand how frustrating it is, too. It was a true pleasure and honor to see her perform!

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

