Skip to content

Lawson Humor

April 29, 2009

I got to go Lawson’s Tuesday night teeball game last night for the first time this entire season, and it was well worth the wait. Lawson, and teeball, are just a hoot. I’m a little too tired right now for dragging out the camera and uploading pics, but I promise I’ll get those up soon–check back for them. 

I’ve missed most of Lawson’s season because my own volleyball season conflicted–my games were played solely on Tuesday nights, and unfortunately, so were Law’s. It’s great to finally be able to see him watching the field intently as the ball, unnoticed, rolls merrily by around eighteen inches to his left.

Dude. Almost had that one...I swear it.

Dude. Almost had that one...I swear it.

It’s comical to watch him chatting up the female players from the opposite team as they run to first and stand on the base. I have to wonder exactly what he’s telling them…he likes their ballcap, or it’s okay if they want to steal second, or maybe that that was an awesome hit. Flattery will get you everywhere, after all.

ball1

Not sure exactly what he's up to here...

Not sure exactly what he's up to here...

It’s cute to see him try to look mean and intimidating as he glowers from under his camo Gap (having forgotten his team hat).

ball3

He’s just so darn cute. It’s killing me.

Cute case in point: The Game had him all wound up last night and he didn’t want to go to sleep…must’ve gotten up out of the bed three times or more with some ultra-flimsy excuse. On the last trip, I narrowed my eyes and looked at him from under my eyebrows (going for the intimidating-mother-thing, you know), and I said, “Lawson, you do understand that it is waaaayy past your bedtime. It is veerrrrry late.”

Lawson looked at me, narrowed his eyes and looked at me from under his eyebrows, and said, “Yes, I do knooowwww.” 

Under normal circumstances, I’d probably get mad if my kid mocked me, but when Lawson does it, it’s just flat out funny for some reason. Duane and I busted up before we sent him to bed…again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 11:00 pm

    Sounds like you’ve got a little ‘Joey’ there.

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    April 30, 2009 7:06 pm

    Might be why I like your “Joey” stories so much. 😉

Leave a Reply

