Skip to content

Wives Who Waffle

May 5, 2009

I was a good wife today.

Not that I’m not a good wife frequently, but you know…I’m no Proverbs 31 superwife. And I will confess that the last month or two, since I have tripled my homebound workload, the housewife stuff has really fallen by the wayside. Somehow, when you’re leaving the house at 7:30 in the morning and not returning until 7:00 in the evening four out of five weekdays, you’re just not all that concerned with making sure the laundry actually makes it into the drawers and closets…it’s good if it’s clean. Where supper is concerned, take-out becomes your new best friend. And if you only get to vaccuum once every couple of weeks, well…you’re doing the best you can.

But I was a good wife this afternoon.

I got home around four, which only happened because Autumn didn’t have tumbling and Lawson’s teeball game got rained out. The kids and I spent around an hour and a half or so picking up, which the house desperately needed, and Duane was out in the barn playing painting on the Boat with his friend Jason. I had just decided on waffles for supper–simply because they were quick and easy–and had started preheating the waffle oven and mixing up the batter when Duane blew into the house.

“Hey, Jason might come in and eat some supper with us. Whatcha fixin?” He leaned on the counter.

I threw an incredulous look over my shoulder as I stirred. Thoughts were stirring through my mind in beat with the spoon. Umm…you didn’t think to ask me an hour ago about inviting a friend to supper? Do you see my house? Would you like to whip up a three-course meal for company at the drop of a hat?

Aloud, I said mildly, “Waffles.”

“Waffles?”

“Waffles.” I confirmed. “We’re having waffles. He’s welcome to join us.”

Duane stood there a moment, in confusion. “Are you making eggs with them?” I paused and considered.

“No, I hadn’t planned on eggs, but I guess I could.”

“What else are you making?”

“Well…nothing.” We just looked at each other across the expanse of countertop. A full five seconds floated by. “They’re big waffles,” I finally stated, defensively.

“Well, I’m going to need some meat,” Duane finally said. “Some fried bologna or something. I can’t just eat a waffle.” He left the kitchen, to return to the barn, I presumed, and tell Jason that his wife with the incredible cooking skills had not cooked anything tonight. That she had not cooked anything in close to two months. That it would probably be another month before she would cook again (when school finally let out for summer).

I sighed, considering my options. I could go ahead and make waffles. People have breakfast for supper all the time. I personally have no problem eating a bowl of cereal for supper on occasion. But I do have this family, and company, and my husband’s reputation to uphold…

Bigger sigh. I put plastic wrap over the container of waffle mix and stuck it in the fridge. Pulled out a bag of frozen chicken tenderloins and dumped them unceremoniously into a pot. Called Duane’s cell.

“Hon,” I said, “I changed my mind. I’m making a chicken pot pie. It’s going to take a little while, though, so don’t be bugging me for supper until after seven.”

Yes, I am an amazing wife, and fortunately my husband was smart enough to compliment that pot pie copiously.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 8:13 am

    I don’t know what he’s complaining about…breakfast for dinner? That was welcome anytime around my house…in fact, it still is.

  2. May 6, 2009 1:41 pm

    You’re a much more awesome wife than I. I would have told him to go buy some bacon if he needed meat. Have you ever made waffles with bacon IN them? Yeah, I’m gourmet.

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    May 6, 2009 3:47 pm

    I did kind of make myself sound like a throwback, didn’t I? I’m not usually so accommodating, don’t worry. 😉 Gerb–how do you make those bacon waffles? Cook the bacon first and crumble, then stir into the waffle mix? That sounds pretty tasty.

  4. May 6, 2009 5:32 pm

    Actually, just put the cooked strips in the waffle and cook them that way…I haven’t had them like that for a long time but they were AWESOME when my family used to make them.

    Perhaps it’s time to do it again…

  5. hintonrae permalink*
    May 6, 2009 9:12 pm

    Great; thanks–I still have enough batter for one amazing bacon waffle, so I will try that tomorrow. This must be a Utah thing–don’t think I’ve ever seen it done here in the south.

  6. May 7, 2009 10:28 am

    T4th has it right… that’s the way I cook ’em. And they are mighty awesome.

  7. May 7, 2009 11:16 pm

    I love the “They’re big waffles” comment!

Leave a Reply

