Skip to content

Twitter Time

May 11, 2009

Lori is tweeting the day with sleep-shot eyes and a mug of chai at Panera.

Lori is twittering away her time with endless status updates.

Lori is scrolling random tweets and considering tweeting, too.

Yup, Lori is on Twitter.

I’d been thinking about getting a Twitter account for some time, mainly because there is no question that networking on any level, in any regard, is the means to promoting your blog and increasing your traffic. I wasn’t quite prepared, however, for how time consuming it can initially be.

I feel compelled to check out who’s following me, and see whether or not I should follow them. To do this, I take a peek at their website, read a bit of their blog. Some of them are great. Some of them are tripe. Some of them are downright nasty, which leads my mouse to hover over the “Block This Follower” button with somewhat alarming frequency. I feel faintly like I am offending the Southern Code of Politesse that was bred into my bones when I shut my eyes and depress the button.

That just can’t be helped, though. I have no desire to view thongs and various and sundry body parts if I happen to click over to your profile. And I am not looking for a date.

While I was setting up my profile last night, and followers were adding themselves, one by one (there’s nothing like Twitter to make a girl feel popular), I kept wondering what I should tweet. I was watching t.v. at the time with the husband. Should I tweet that, or is that just going to make me sound lazy and without-a-life? Should I be really specific, as in, “watching Prison Break, the most awesome show on t.v. that’s not coming back next season”?

It was sort of like Facebook all over again. I’m the new kid, standing by the fence on the playground. Every now and then, someone will flit over, decide I’m ordinary enough or cool enough or just simply enough, and I’m in.

Some pros of Twitter: there are countless writers and editors that you can develop a Twitterelationship with. I read not too long ago on Michael Hyatt’s blog that if you’re interested in publishing, one of the very first things you need to do is establish a base—most easily these days through blogs. Terry Whalin took that a step further with some advice last night, telling me to focus my blog on a particular theme. Those themes, he said, can be turned into books. These are known as “blooks.” I know of a couple of bloggers who do this beautifully—Teachinfourth, with his Moments with Joey and Pioneer Woman, with her Black Heels to Tractor Wheels. You can see both of their links in my blogroll. I’m still working on that focus…it seems to have deserted me after the birth of the kids. I personally think Lawson’s ADD might be a bit contagious.

But anyway. Follow me on Twitter, and maybe I’ll eventually tweet something that doesn’t make me sound like a twit.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 3:40 pm

    I keep hearing about twitter… and tweeting. But I still don’t get it. I finally figured out facebook and then they changed the format again. It took me 2 weeks to figure out how to update my status (thanks to my 14-year-old for pointing it out to me)… I’m not sure I can add more technology to my life.

    But I’ll keep following you here in blogland. Good enough?

  2. May 12, 2009 5:11 pm

    You are so funny!
    I’m overwhelmed by all of the twitter things, and just learning myself. We’ll figure it out together! LOL

  3. May 12, 2009 10:41 pm

    Okay, I saw this a few weeks ago and once I did I decided not to use Twitter…I am with Gerb…I have too many other things to try to keep updated in my life without adding another one; blogger sometimes kills me when nothing comes to me and it sits dormant for four or five days.

    Hope it makes you laugh.

  4. hintonrae permalink*
    May 13, 2009 9:15 am

    T4th–that video is hysterical and so true; thanks for the send. I struggled with joining Twitter for a looong time, and finally did so solely as a means to increasing traffic to my blog. For that reason alone, I’m glad I did–it pretty much tripled it within a day. I’ll see if the trend keeps up, though, because it’s definitely one of those nuisances that I’ll “forget” to attend to…I mean, I like TOTALLY forgot to tweet that Lawson had a teeball game last night! Imagine that.

    And Gerb–of course blogland is good enough! 🙂

  5. May 14, 2009 12:17 pm

    I must say I am totally addicted to twitter. I recently made the #1 spot for North of Dallas, Texas on twitterholic (I am not kidding).

    Twitter is all about forming relationships and conversing with others. I’ve formed relationships with so many people I admire on there. Personal relationships and business relationships. And recently, Blue Bunny on twitter (@bluebunny) sent me coupons for free ice cream when our schools closed over swine flu. Cant beat that…mmmm.

  6. hintonrae permalink*
    May 14, 2009 1:13 pm

    Tex–That is hysterical. What kind of reward did they give you? I must say that I have discovered some fabulous new blogs through Twitter, so that’s a bonus. Can’t wait to try that Watermelon Pie of yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

