Skip to content

Best Laid Plans, Pt. 2

May 27, 2009

An hour passed, during which I continued to hold random conversations with whoever was handy. I dumped out the first beer and held onto a second so I’d look occupied. Didn’t want to get mixed up with those Jell-O shooters, no sirree. I didn’t know why I bothered, considering that I didn’t drink, except that everyone else had something in their hands and I knew I’d feel even more odd if I didn’t. Another hour passed. I was starting to get a little anxious by now. How long did it take to go to the 7-11?

 

People were starting to clear out by now. It was past 2:30 in the morning, and I supposed even frat boys needed to sleep. Billy Baldwin Look-Alike returned.

 

“Uh…where are your friends?”

 

“I don’t have a clue,” I said tightly. I’m sure my eyes were screaming, ‘save me!’ and I despised them for it, but I had never been good at shuttering my emotions. Billy looked distinctly uncomfortable.

 

“Well, can you call them?”

 

“I don’t know where they are!” This was before the age of every-high-schooler-has-her-own-cell-phone. If I remember correctly, I think the Cellular Phone in the consumer sense had just emerged on the scene in my junior or senior year of high school. They were big, bulky, expensive objects, with no family plans available.

 

“Did they go home?” He voiced the suspicion that had been eating at me for the last hour. Had they driven back to Lynchburg and left me, alone, at this party? Surrounded by half-drunk frat boys? Would they do that to me? I didn’t want to think so, but…

 

“I don’t know. I don’t know what to think.” We sat beside each other on the couch, the apartment pretty quiet now, virtually everybody gone except for a few hard-core partiers in the kitchen area. He was jingling his keys. It occurred to me that this was not his apartment, that he was going to be leaving, too. That I was really going to be alone. I was a little surprised by the realization that I actually felt safe with him. I didn’t know him from Adam, but there was something comforting about him, something almost big-brother-ish. Even if he was cute as all get-out.

 

After a few more minutes of thought, he stopped jingling his keys and rose to his feet. “Okay. You’re coming with me.” I just looked up at him, dazed with fatigue and a little stupefied at the sudden take-charge vibe that was emanating from Billy B. Billy B. wasn’t the alpha Baldwin. Alec was. Stephen was the goober, and Billy was the intriguing, intellectual one.

 

“What?” was all I could manage.

 

“You can’t stay here by yourself, and I can’t stay all night. I have to get some sleep. So we’ll leave a message for your friends, should they come back for you. Okay?” He was already in motion, headed toward the kitchen. I could hear him calling for someone named Brad as I followed, see him writing something down with a Sharpie on the back of a beer carton.

 

“Okay,” I said, and followed.

 

Inside I was clamoring. Stupidstupidstupid. ‘Okay?’ said the spider to the fly. And the fly says, “sure! I’d love to have all of my blood and nutrients sucked out. After you’ve injected me with a paralytic, of course.” Famous last words, girlie. Okay.

 

We drove a few campus blocks to his dorm apartment and walked in, where he pointed me to a brown tweed sofa right in front of the door. “There you go,” he said, tossing me a pillow and blanket. I clutched them like shields. “I’m hitting the sack.” He started walking up a flight up steps, then paused. “Umm. Phone’s right there, if you want to try to call home or something. You know. Just in case.”

 

My shoulders slumped and I tossed the blanket and pillow on the couch. “Thanks. I think I’ll do that—just see if they drove off and left me. They get a little crazy every now and then.”

 

I picked up the receiver and hovered my hand over the rotary dial. Who to call? My parents? Not. In. This. Life. If they ever found out about this episode…whew. I didn’t want to think about it. I finally decided on Michelle’s parents. She was supposed to be spending the night with Neely, and I was supposed to be spending the night with Jen, so it shouldn’t look too unusual for me to call Michelle. Even if it was 3:30 a.m.

 

Um. Wrong. I blame that decision on freaking out over my friends ditching me and lack of sleep, but it was, unfortunately, the decision that ultimately brought our whole house of cards tumbling down upon us. Michelle was not At Home, of course. Curiosity had her parents calling Neely’s parents, though. And then Neely’s parents called Jen’s parents. And Jen’s parents called my parents. It was a wee bit of a disaster when we finally drove into the ‘burg at 6 a.m., my friends having sheepishly come knocking on my hero’s door an hour or so after my ill-placed phone call.

 

“Heeeyyy! Did you have a good time!?” And then, looking around curiously, “why are you on the couch?” Yeah. Not so subtle, my friends. But that’s okay. As I said earlier, they had their plans, and I had my own…I just had to deal with a cop in my driveway as a result of my not so intentional sabotage. Sorry, guys.

Faith Walk: On Best Laid Plans

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 2:17 pm

    So… these are your friends, right? Holy crow, that was an evil trick to play. Unbelievable!!

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    May 28, 2009 9:47 pm

    No evil intent, thankfully! Just thoughtless. Makes you scared for your own children, though, at times.

  3. May 31, 2009 10:23 am

    Whoa…I would have been livid. The fact that they ditched you with such thoughtlessness…ugh!

    It is something to make one worry for future generations of one’s own…

Leave a Reply

