Skip to content

Wannawannawanna Baby

June 13, 2009

My sister-in-law is in labor today and I am jealous. I want another fat, cuddly, chunky-cheeked lump of love to hug and and pet and squeeze and possibly call George (or Georgina, as the case may be). Is that too much to ask?

According to Duane, it is. The conversation goes a little something like this:

Duane: No More Babies.

Me: I only have two!

Duane: Two’s enough.

Me: But three’s better. Three prevents a tied vote.

Duane: We have our boy and our girl. We don’t need another to disrupt perfection and rock the boat.

Me: I was the only girl with three brothers. I never felt rocked. I always ruled.

Duane: No. More. Babies.

Me: Just. One. More?

Duane: That’s what you said last time. I’m serious this time. Besides, you’re old. You’re like, thirty-four.

Me: Where’s the Nerf gun?

That usually ends that discussion. Old, indeed! My eggs are perfectly young. Well, perfectly young enough. Well, perfectly okay. I’m acceptable, dagnabit! Women my age have babies all the time! And most of the time they’re sort of healthy and smart. And it’s not like Duane really has to do anything in this whole baby process…besides the fun part, that is. I do all of the heavy lifting and gestating, and do most everything afterwards, too–I’m a very nice, thoughtful wife. (Although he does have to put up with me for the whole nine month thing, and although I really think otherwise, he swears that I’m not very nice during that time.) So I really see no impediment to this whole baby thing.

Not that it makes any difference. I just thought I’d air that out, get it off my chest. Let somebody other than Duane listen to me rant, seeing as how Lauralee’s in labor and I’m jealous. Yup. Jealous of someone else pushing a — ahem. Mixed company. I’ll just stop there.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2009 11:19 am

    Tell Duane I’m 37 and hoping for number 10 next year. Wait… even I think I’m crazy. That argument may not work. 😉

  2. Brenda permalink
    June 14, 2009 10:24 pm

    I just had my third baby girl four months ago and I turned 41 one month later. I would love to have just one more, but my husband says we are finished. I get so aggravated that he feels he can make such unilateral decisions. It took so long to have our second child that we missed out on a big family. And, I too love those chubby babies. I wish I could have babies the rest of my life. My Mother assures me that soon I will be happy that we are finished, but I am not so sure. I want to always be holding, nursing, toting and loving a new little life. Hopefully my girls will give me a bunch of grandbabies.

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    June 15, 2009 5:43 pm

    G–jeezy pete–10! You’re killing me. You’ve got your own Sound of Music squad.

    And Brenda–at least you squeezed a 3rd out of your husband. (Or was it the other way around??) I think sometimes the guys look at the same way, thinking we’re the ones making the unilateral decisions. It’s tough when we’re not on the same page about something as fundamental as the number of kids. But that’s what compromise is for, and as much as I like to joke about it, that’s what we did. Duane actually only wanted one, and settled on two (and of course is thrilled with those). So I probably shouldn’t push for three. 😉

  4. Kristi permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:19 pm

    Lori,

    You could always resort to my tactics…come to think of it, I’m not sure you’ve heard about that. Anyhoo, I have Matthew, which probably wouldn’t have happened without a little, um, creativity on my part. Looking back, I don’t think I knew what another child would require (I was 34 when I had him), but I wouldn’t trade him for the world. When the other two have my head spinning, he can usually bring it to a halt.

  5. jennspastic permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:20 pm

    So funny! I have one. He’s five months. At this point I have no desire to have another one. I can’t imagine saying, “Yes, I’ll take another dose of 6 months supply heartburn,4 months supply swelling ALL OVER, 3 months supply of gestational diabetes, and yet another c-section complete with weeks of pain and discomfort AND one full week of not being able to go number 2.”

    Perhaps I will one day forget all that?

  6. hintonrae permalink*
    June 17, 2009 8:02 am

    Jenn–you will definitely forget all of that…right around the time they leave their baby-ness behind and you realize it’s gone forever. I had somewhat difficult pregnancies with both of mine–puking sick the whole time, PUPPS with Autumn, lots of heartburn, the bloating, irritability, pinched sciatic, varicose veins, …these things…they just dissolve into insignificance when compared to that child. Even when you realize how permanent some of them are (like the varicose veins and stretch marks), how paltry they are compared to the wondrous permanency of being a parent to another child–getting to know their disposition, their character…having a hand in shaping such. It’s an unimaginable blessing. Yeah, one day you’ll forget all that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

