Skip to content

Close the Door

June 18, 2009

This came across my Facebook Wall last night, and completely took the poison out of the completely vituperative post I already had written and waiting in Word.

 

Hey! It’s so great to catch up with you again. I’m doing wonderful. I am currently going to Christopher Newport University and I am studying to become a teacher, thanks a lot to you. You were such an amazing influence and I am really glad I get to keep in touch now. How are you and your family doing? What are you getting into these days? Thanks so much for the link too by the way.

8 hours ago · Comment · LikeUnlike · Show Feedback (1)Hide Feedback (1) · See Wall-to-Wall

 

Obviously this is from a former student (I deleted her name—figured I ought to keep her

anonymous since I was posting this without a by-her-leave). What a bubble-bath way to end the day this was.

 Some of you have heard and some of you have guessed that I didn’t get the teaching position I interviewed for, and I spent most of yesterday being angry and disappointed and in a funk and just kind of flabbergasted. I’m a good teacher. I can say that without conceit—it’s just one of those things you know about yourself, like you know you can tie your shoes in the dark.

 But for some reason, I didn’t get my old job back. And I was aggravated as all get-out, because they dated the letter I received with the same date as the interview, which to me indicated that they’d already selected their candidate and were just wasting my time. And two, they sent me a letter.

 It was a lovely little missive, which read, in the most formal language imaginable, something to the effect of:

 Dear Ms. White,

 Thank you for your interest in the English position (blah blah blah). We regret to inform you that we have already selected a candidate (blah blah blah). We will certainly keep your application on file though (blah blah blah). Thank you for your time (blah blah blah).

 Sincerely,

 

 Well, all I heard was blah blah blah.

 A letter? Really? I worked for you people for eight years and you send me letter to tell me you selected someone else? That’s just chicken. I’m not going to snarl too viciously.

 But that’s cool. I’m cool. We Real Cool. My student’s post went a long way toward making me feel much better about the whole thing—God is good that way, isn’t He? I’ve closed the door on yesterday’s anger and disappointment and opened the door to whatever potential lies before me today. And who knows what His plan is. Maybe I’ll wind up accidentally pregnant in a year or two and I would’ve had to have left school anyway. Now that would’ve ticked my principal off. Heh heh heh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    June 18, 2009 2:23 pm

    Hey Lori,

    I am sorry you had such a bad day, but am very happy that someone took the time to write and say what an influential person you are. I do not think enough of that is done these days.

    I recently got a chance to talk with my elementary school teachers and let her know what I really thought of her teaching, I actually learned a lot from this Lady although at the time I really didn’t like her, she is a tremendous asset to me even now in my adult life.

    That being said, I appreciate your teaching! I know from watching you lead in the Awanas how much the kids mean to you and in fact whether you know it or not it shows how much you care and I appreciate You!

    Tony

  2. June 19, 2009 1:05 am

    I know exactly how you feel…or close. I interviewed two different years at one school and didn’t get the position and at another school I was a PE teacher at for two years and didn’t get that one either. I was upset at the time, too.

    You know what though? I look back now on other doors which opened up beyond those few which were in the then ‘now’. I am so glad that I didn’t get those positions I was so sure I wanted…

    Maybe you have something better in store, something just waiting. You just have to be patient enough to wait for it.

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    June 19, 2009 8:46 pm

    Thanks, guys. Patience has never been my strong suit, but I’m practicing. I threw my little temper tantrum, though, had a good time with it, then dusted myself off and reminded myself of my own words of wisdom, and I. Am. Good.

    Truly.

  4. June 20, 2009 2:07 am

    Lori,
    Boy do I understand the disappointment. HUG

    I have a business I don’t talk about too much, where I make soy candles. I’d worked my fanny off for four years to build this business from scratch. I was in four stores and had just been accepted by a BIG name wholefood type store, and thot FINALLY! I’ve made it! But in one month everything collapsed last fall. The economy tanked, stores closed, and the big name whole some food store decided they didn’t want to take a risk on a little company like mine….I have so much inventory and many more supplies that are just waiting…. I was so upset for months. But ya know what? It got me back into my first love – writing. And I would have never met you if I hadn’t! So I’m glad my candle biz was extinguished for now. It was worth getting to know you and yours!! 🙂

    We don’t have to understand or like what God is doing in our lives, but if we trust His way and plan, we will smell the roses along the path He takes us!!

    Take Heart, Dear Friend. Even tho what we want is good, what God has planned is best!

    HUG and love,
    c

Leave a Reply

