Skip to content

Chronicles of a Vacation: Kara’s Cupcakes

July 1, 2009

I have this thing for cupcakes.

Well, okay…I have this thing for anything sweet. Cupcakes. Brownies. Ice cream. Bananas Foster. Creme brulee. Snickers bars. Reeses peanut butter cups. But I really like cupcakes.

When I researching stuff to do in San Francisco and San Jose, I stumbled across this little cupcake shop called Kara’s that looked very promising. It had been featured on Martha Stewart, had a supply of unique flavors, such as Meyer Lemon and Chocolate Velvet, and had hundreds of rave reviews (and just a handful of crazies that liked to complain about sprinkle quality). Plus, it was cute, with its little pink awning and clean, crisp cupcake design. (You can see this for yourself on the web at www.karascupcakes.com). I can’t tell you how important it is that things be cute, especially when a  single cupcake costs $3.25 and I can whip up twenty-four for a couple of bucks with good ole Duncan Hines. At any rate, my sweet tooth decided that a visit to Kara’s was in order.

After a full, exhausting day at Fisherman’s Wharf, we decided to find the Kara’s in San Jose rather than search out the one in San Fran. We walked in, and although I immediately wanted to snap photos of all the truly lovely and photo-worthy cakes in the counter-display, I refrained from doing so, simply to avoid looking any more I-just-fell-off-the-vegetable-cart than I already did. I can’t really do anything about the accent–when my husband or I start to talk, it’s the kind of thing that makes a Californian kind of jerk their head up intently to peer at us. “Uh–where are you guys from?” “We’re frum Vuhgihnyuh. It’s okay, though. We’re still kinda smart. We kin read three and four letter words.”

Instead, we selected a variety–Meyer Lemon and Sweet Vanilla, Chocolate Velvet and Peanut Butter Chocolate–to photograph and enjoy later. And, my husband and Autumn understanding exactly what makes me tick, they actually patiently waited to enjoy their snack until after I had taken pictures of it.

 

Yum.

Yum.

I won’t say that the cupcakes were worth three bucks, because I’m not completely convinced that a pastry is ever worth three bucks, but these were pretty dang good cupcakes, especially the Chocolate Velvet. And yes, despite the [lack of] value, I’d buy them again. Sometimes you just have to be decadent where food is concerned.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 9:51 am

    I would have bought them, too. I’m a total sucker for pastries. If you’re ever in Utah I’ll take you to The Sweet Tooth Fairy for some Fudge Bites and a Vanilla Cupcake. Bliss.

  2. July 4, 2009 11:32 pm

    You know, I probably would have gotten a few to try as well…just for the experience.

    It’s funny, originally I was going to be in California at the same time as you…I was going to see if we could meet up someplace for lunch so I could meet you guys. Guess it’s better now that I know all about the accent. We probably would have needed an interpreter. 😉

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    July 6, 2009 12:42 pm

    G–I will definitely take you up on that. Loving the name of that shop!

    J–aww, that would’ve been so cool! I’d love to meet both you and Gerb some time. What was it that would have brought you to California? And we can harness the accent if need be…it’s nice for shock value, though. 😉

    I think (not sure, but I think I remember correctly) that we may be in Vegas in Oct for a biz mtg for my husband. Nevada’s somewhere close to Utah, right? (Geography’s not my strong suit, hee hee.) Can’t remember the exact dates offhand, and it won’t be a very long trip, but maybe we can all get together then.

  4. July 7, 2009 12:28 am

    That would be fun. Let me know when you know specifics…not sure if I can right now, it’ll depend on what day and all that (since I teach during the off-summer months).

    I was headed to Cali. to visit a teacher friend of mine who moved there last year. I was going to be there until today but circumstances changed some things, you know?

    Since I don’t know anyone over in Virginia (other than you) I probably won’t be making any trips out there any time soon…

  5. hintonrae permalink*
    July 9, 2009 10:57 am

    Will keep you posted–Gerb emailed and said yall were around 6 hours away from Vegas. We shall see! 😉

Leave a Reply

