Skip to content

FreakKing

July 7, 2009

I was going to stay far, far away from the whole Michael Jackson thing, but I guess I’d be a little odd if I wasn’t blogging about him today of all days, hmmm?

 

I think we are a ridiculously fickle culture. To turn our backs one day, our shoulders cold, and cry “Freak! Pervert! Child molester!” and then glorify the next day in death. There is a peculiar entertainment value in watching the spectacle of Michael’s memorial, which was truly rigged out in a fashion befitting a king.

 

We did a little of the same with Diana, Princess of Wales, although I don’t believe she suffered the same level of public mockery and outright revilement that Michael did. Although she wasn’t a favorite in certain royal circles, she was definitely not despised by the majority. In fact, I think a lot of us Americans were probably cheering her on most of the time for her spunk and feistiness.

 

I’m not sure I get the whole Hollywood parade of celebrities earnestly conveying their sorrow, and everyone weeping in the streets, and such, though. Yes, Michael Jackson was indisputably the King of Pop. I was there—I remember vividly putting the vinyl on and bopping around in childish abandon to ABC and Rockin’ Robin. Later I broke it down in earnest, fist clenched performance (bedroom door tightly closed, of course) to Man in the Mirror, and honestly, every Halloween I still thrill to Thriller. Some things will never change. That era died a long time ago, though, and if I’m remembering correctly, we didn’t weep. Instead, we watched our TVs and read our newspapers with buzzard-like abandon for the carcass of Jackson’s career. Right around the time Michael’s life took on the quality of a train wreck, my fascination (and many others’, I suspect) took a slide toward repulsion and sadness, and that was pretty much it.

 

What a broken man, in so many ways. I think he must have sensed his own brokenness, and tried to mend it, but he simply didn’t have the way to do so. The way, after all, isn’t medication, plastic surgery, or even replicating the innocence of youth. There’s only one way to fix that which is broken inside of us, and that is through a relationship with Jesus Christ.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirley permalink
    July 8, 2009 8:27 am

    Amen!! I always enjoy your blogs!

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    July 9, 2009 10:56 am

    Thanks, Shirley! 😉

  3. July 10, 2009 6:18 pm

    Truer words cannot be spoken.

Leave a Reply

