Skip to content

Burger Wars

July 11, 2009

Duane has this friend from California (you know who you are, Larry Boy) who has been after us for some time to visit an In-N-Out on our trip to San Jose. He actually told us to visit one on our trip to Huntington Beach two years ago, and our trip to Scottsdale a year ago, and pretty much threatened us with bodily injury if we didn’t eat there this time.

 innout

“It’s the best burger you’ll ever eat,” he’s been telling us for the last couple of years. “I swear. Puts everything around here to shame.” Needless to say, we have been pretty revved up about this In-N-Out burger, with its special sauce and limited options menu—limited, because it’s Just That Good.

 

So, one of the first dinner destinations on our list was the In-N-Out. It definitely looked promising, with its retro feel, full parking lot, and bustling interior. We made our selections, settled down at a little table outside in the balmy San Jose evening, and dug in, prepared for culinary amazement.

 

“Huh.”

 

I took a bite, then another couple of bites just to verify what I was tasting. Pretty much…nothing…special. I’m pretty sure that it wasn’t even “real” beef.

 

I was so disappointed. What a letdown! I’m sorry Larry, but Five Guys outstrips In-N-Out any day of the week—which suits me just fine, location considered. Although I will say–your recommendation for authentic West Coast Mexican food (El Toritos) was dead on.  Yum.

What’s your opinion? Take my poll and sound off on what your favorite fast food burger is.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2009 11:31 am

    I must say, we just got a 5 Guys not too long ago, tried it… it was fine. But In-n-Out will always rank high on my list. Possibly because of the memories of eating there with friends – but I’m pretty sure it’s the juicy burgers and tasty fries. Another favorite? Fatburger. It’s one of those: Would-you-like some-burger-with-your-grease sort of joints. LOVE it.

  2. July 12, 2009 7:11 pm

    One day I’ll try 5 Guys Burgers, but there is a place in Spokane which is quite the dive/greasepit/heaven: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dick%27s_Drive-In

    I WILL go here again before my return home.

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    July 14, 2009 9:47 pm

    Umm…I love greasy burger dive-type places. They’re unbeatable. You know, though–I think there might have been something Wrong with this In-n-Out that we visited, because the more people that we talk to, the more we realize the experiences just are matching up. We’re told that they hand-patty the burgers in front of you, and they’re supposed to be thick and juicy…that just wasn’t the case. These patties were thin and almost pressed appearing–like Sonic’s or McDonald’s, almost. Very non-juicy–almost like a soyburger mixture. It was strange. Did not taste at all like “real” beef. I think we got a DUD, and for my one and only In-n-Out experience, I feel kind of ripped off.

Leave a Reply

