Skip to content

We.Like.Shopping.

July 13, 2009

I was just checking my email and came across the following message from my kids’ school:

 

“Lower School students’ supplies are being purchased for you by your child’s teacher this year. Supply charges were included in the Book & Activity fee you have already paid. You will not need to do any shopping for your Lower School students’ supplies! (Kindergarten parents will need to supply a sleeping mat.)”

 

 I’m a little peeved! I might even feel a little rant coming on. I noticed that the book fees went up from $365 for both of the kids to $500 this year, but just figured that the textbooks were costing a bit more. I hadn’t realized until this email that the extra was covering school supplies.

 

This aggravates me on a couple of levels. One, that’s almost $70 per kid for a few folders, pencils, crayons, and a plastic box to put ‘em in. I barely spend $70 on the both of my kids when I take them school shopping myself. Basic school supplies are pretty doggone cheap, unless you are really trying to crank it out for the ultra-expensive items.

 

Two, we enjoy shopping for school supplies. Notice I said we. Notice I said enjoy. Shopping for school supplies is a time-honored tradition in my household. It is one that we plan for, mapping out a list of needed items, such as number two pencils, wished for items, like the totally necessary mini-highlighters, and just-for-fun-items, like new Crocs dibbits or bangle bracelets.

 

I feel kind of bad for my kids that not only are they all marched into uniform sameness where appearance is concerned; but now they will be stamped into sameness where their supplies are concerned, as well. But that’s okay. I realize that I’m not cut quite out of the same mold as most of the other parents/faculty/etc that are affiliated with this school—comes, I’m sure, from my fairly liberal public school upbringing. Just call me Rebel. I’m learning to keep my mouth shut and a pleasant expression on my face as I tread the treacherous waters—

 

–okay. Probably carrying the metaphor a little far. It’s not that bad. It’s actually a great school; otherwise, I wouldn’t have my kids there. Autumn did a ton of oral reports and hands-on projects, was constantly engaged in writing, and went on around four fantastic field trips last year, and Lawson was forever doing something so fun and engaging in his kindergarten class—playing with bones, dissecting a frog, growing guppies…I’m impressed with the academics. So I suppose I can’t complain too awful much if they want to buy my kids’ school supplies for me. I guess that just leaves me a little wiggle room to buy the fun stuff, huh?  🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. maria permalink
    July 13, 2009 6:48 pm

    I would be upset too actually. I have always loved school supply shopping. It was the best part of going back to school for me and my siblings and my mom and we would make a day out buying them, having lunch, picking up school clothes, etc. The amount they spent on them is outrageous – you have good reason to be annoyed.

  2. July 13, 2009 9:52 pm

    Are the pencils gold-plated? The folders titanium? Holy cow! Maybe I’m just super thrifty, but I shop the sales and get those things for less than $10 per kid before school starts. I would have issues with their padding your cost and saying it’s for school supplies. $70?! Yowza!

Leave a Reply

