Skip to content

Not Blind

August 17, 2009

About this image: I've recently discovered and fallen head over heels for Anne Taintor. What's not to love? Vintage images, deceptive smiles, and a wicked sense of humor. Find more at www.annetaintor.com

About this image: I've recently discovered and fallen head over heels for Anne Taintor. What's not to love? Vintage images, deceptive smiles, and a wicked sense of humor. Find more at http://www.annetaintor.com

It all started with the cheese for the spaghetti. Everything was fixed and ready to go…except the cheese, which you all know is Quite Essential. I vaguely remembered having seen it in the cabinet, so that was the first place I searched. And the second, and the third. Then I moved on to the refrigerator, thinking maybe I’d committed an Act of Logic and put it where it belonged, even though it hadn’t yet been opened.

 

“What are you looking for?” Duane asked, only slightly frustrated at the delay in getting everything shifted to the let’s-say-grace-and-eat stage.

 

“The cheese! It’s here somewhere…I just saw it yesterday.” I revisited the cabinet again, this time shoving cans and packages out of the way for a clearer look at the contents.

 

“What’s it look like?”

 

A plastic bottle of cheese. That’s what it looks like. What do most plastic bottles of cheese look like?

 

“I don’t really remember…” I said instead. “Plastic bottle, green or purple top. I bought a different variety this kind.” Duane began rooting through the refrigerator as I continued searching through the cabinets.

 

“Nope. It’s not here. We’re out. You forgot it,” he quickly concluded.

 

“Doh! Here it is!” I had forgotten to actually turn the lazy susan, and the cheese was hiding on its back side. The cheese was sprinkled, crisis averted, and dinner served.

 

Or, at least…sort of served. Autumn kept lingering in the playroom, unaware that I could clearly see her dallying in front of the t.v.

 

“Autumn!” I called. “Third time! Come and eat NOW!”

 

She remained motionless in front of the t.v. “I’m looking for my drink…”

 

“I don’t think you realize that I can SEE perfectly well, young lady.” I pointed the hand holding the cheese emphatically in her direction. “I am NOT BLIND. Get in here so we can eat.”

 

She came into the kitchen. From behind me came my husband’s voice. “Yeah. She’s not BLIND.”

 

There was dead silence for a minute as we all absorbed this, and then…giggles.

 

It’s lovely to have children with a sense of humor.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 9:23 pm

    Oh, Lori… this sounds like a moment out of my own life. I am blind, deaf and forgetful all the time – but hate to admit it. I love that your kids got the joke. That always makes it a little easier to laugh at yourself, doesn’t it? 😉

  2. August 18, 2009 1:18 pm

    I just LOVE your way of telling family stories! You never cease to intrigue and entertain! You’re the best!

    I’m with Gerb, I’m all three at one time or another. I blame it on “Mommy-Heimers”

Leave a Reply

