Skip to content

The Cookies That Almost Weren’t

August 25, 2009

annetaintor[1]

One of the things I love about being back at Forest Elementary School is its “arms wide open” approach to parent volunteers. The school has a way of making parents feel needed, and involved, that  makes it a unique and nurturing environment. It’s one of the best I’ve seen, in fact, after working at few different schools and having my kids in another school. It sends a clear message to both children and parents that education is a collaborative business–it doesn’t end in the classroom, or at the dining room table. It invites parents and teachers to work together to make sure every need is met.

With this in mind, I was more than happy to fill in wherever I was needed when I went down the volunteer tables at Open House. My first task would be one I was familiar with doing: making a couple dozen homemade cookies to welcome the teachers back.

The weekend was crazy, as they usually are. Busy with putting together and carrying off a bridal shower for my soon-to-be sister-in-law, I didn’t have time to get to the cookies until around ten p.m. Sunday evening. Last minute Lori. That’s how I roll.

I had decided upon chocolately-peanut butter no-bake cookies, or, as they’re called in this part of the world, Preacher Cookies. They’re a stovetop cookie, so no baking was required. Just bring some sugar, milk, cocoa, and butter to a boil, and then add oatmeal, peanut butter, and vanilla. Simple.

I had my first few ingredients just coming to a boil on the stove when I went to measure the oatmeal and discovered…No Oatmeal. Now, I can be a ditz sometimes, but I KNEW I had had oatmeal in that cabinet not too long ago. I performed another cabinet search similar to the one I conducted when searching for the parmesan cheese…just a bit more frustrated because there’s only one spot that I store oatmeal.

I finally gave up, not really sure what had happened to the oatmeal but resigned to the fact that it was gone. I put a lid on the pot of chocolate and placed it in the fridge, deciding that it would have to wait until I could pick up some oats at the store the next morning. That taken care of, I went to bed.

On the way, I stopped to vent to Duane about the mysteriously missing oatmeal and my inability to finish the cookies as planned. After complaining for a few minutes, I noticed a sheepish grin lurking around the corners of Duane’s lips.

“Umm. Yeah. Do you by any chance have anything to do with my mysteriously missing oatmeal?” I asked, crossing my arms over my chest.

“Weeelllll…” Duane scratched his head. “I might have seen it in the cabinet…”

“And?”

“Well, it makes really good goldfish food. And my goldfish were hungry.” I stared at him, gimlet eyed.

“You took my oatmeal to feed your goldfish? To feed your bait?”

 

Words fail me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirley permalink
    August 27, 2009 1:04 pm

    Lori, I make those all of the time, my Mom used to call them One Minute Cookies because you boil everything for one minute and then use the 1 minute oatmeal, my kids call them cookies in a cup, because we usually eat them right out of the pan in a cup while they are still hot….um um…. If you ever need Oatmeal for cookies, call me, but not for feeding Duane’s fish bait…..just for cookies….lol

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    August 27, 2009 8:58 pm

    Thanks, Shirley! I will definitely keep that in mind next time Duane ransacks the kitchen…

  3. August 27, 2009 10:14 pm

    We had ‘Mystery Week’ in an after-school program years ago and I made those…we called them our ‘Scooby Snacks’ to help us solve all of our mysteries.

    Looks like you didn’t need them to solve yours.

Leave a Reply

