Skip to content

Gleeful

September 5, 2009

I can still remember my first viewing of Grease. I sat in the back of a hatch-back station wagon on the back of a worn, soft quilt. I was supposed to be sleeping, but my three-year-old attention was captivated by the music. It was 1978, a small drive-in theater somewhere near our home in Crewe, VA. I loved every minute of it.

 

I’ve since watched Grease as many, if not more, times as I’ve seen such classics as the Wizard of Oz and Gone With the Wind. It never fails to move me.

 

There aren’t many moments like that—moments that stick in your three-old memory just clear as yesterday. I was just watching the pilot of Glee, though, and I think I may have just had a moment.

 

The show was pretty good the whole way through—witty, with a subtle, snarky sense of humor that you can easily miss if you don’t possess intelligence. The moment that defined it as a show to watch, though, was the glee club’s rendition of Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing.”

 

Maybe it’s just because I like Journey that much. Sing me some Journey and I’ll…well, maybe I shouldn’t fully commit myself. I’ll just plead the fifth, instead. Suffice to say, it’s one of my all-time favorite groups.

 

Maybe it’s simply because I am a bit of geek with a little weakness for musicals, in all of their hokey, corny glory. I mean, nobody just spontaneously bursts into song as they go about their business (except perhaps when they’re cleaning the kitchen floor, or in the car…), but wouldn’t the world be a fun place if they did?

 

Whatever the reason, that single three or four minute clip drew me in and made me want to stay a while. If the glee club continues to sing the songs of Journey, I expect it’ll probably be a pretty good season for the show.

*You can view a snippet of the song by clicking on the video link in my Vodpod line-up, below right.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2009 6:52 pm

    My friend Trish told me about that show a couple months back. I watched the pilot episode online and REALLY WISH WE HAD TV now!! I also fell in love with the show and with their rendition of Journey’s song. There’s just something about a group of ‘misfits’ (plus one football star) who all come together to make some amazing music.

  2. September 6, 2009 3:11 pm

    Amen to what Gerb said…I haven’t seen the show, but I did see the little snippet you linked to. I think this is a show I would like as well.

    I also love the link to the Sam Tsui cover of “Don’t Stop Believing.” I’d actually stumbled across it on YT before I saw it here…love it.

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    September 8, 2009 12:17 pm

    Gerb–feel so sorry for you! No tv! I don’t know what I’d do without tv. Decompression!

    And Jason–isn’t Sam Tsui amazing? He and the guy that does all of the computer work and arrangement are a great pair.

  4. Shirley permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:31 pm

    this was awesome, I love their version!!

  5. hintonrae permalink*
    September 29, 2009 4:51 pm

    Shirley—I hope you’re watching the show. Duane and I don’t miss an episode, and you know it must be good for D. to not only sit through, but look forward to what is essentially a musical. It’s that subversive humor and sense of the absurd, I think, that gets us, as well as the music. Thanks for the ringtone. 😉

Leave a Reply

