Skip to content

The Fever

October 3, 2009

This is dedicated to all of those hunting widows out there…I hope you had a great opening day of bow season. 🙂

 

There’s a phenomenon that takes over a vast number of the male species roundabout the mid to end of September. It’s the “gearing up for hunting season” phenomenon, or, as I life to refer to it more simply, the Fever.

 

I actually have two males of the species in the grips of the Fever to contend with. Lawson got his first taste of it last weekend, when there was an “open season” of sorts for kids. He got an eight-point buck all by himself, and has not let his father live it down yet that he did so when he was seven years-old, while Duane didn’t manage to kill his first buck until he was eleven. Na-na-na-na-boo-boo.

 law09

The Fever has clear and unmistakable symptoms, among them a suspicious increase of Cabelas and Bass Pro Shops packages delivered by UPS—so many that the friendly UPS man actually looks upon you with concern, asking, “so your husband’s a bowhunter, huh? How ‘bout we just send these back?” It’s further marked by a dining room table littered by various hunting apparatuses that must be moved nightly to another segment of the home—carefully, as not to disturb a fragile rest or sight that has been painstakingly positioned in just the right spot. Finally, the male temperament, usually so easygoing and peaceable, undergoes a significant and volatile alteration when in the grip of the Fever.

 

Take for instance the following example. Duane usually loves for me to cook supper. He adores it, in fact. He would grovel on the floor in abject humility…okay, I exaggerate. I don’t often have a great deal of time to cook these days, since Autumn’s tumbling and Lawson’s soccer schedules don’t let me get home until after seven p.m., most nights. But one night last week, I decided the heck with it…I’m cooking.

 

I planned everything carefully…the schedule permitted me to run Autumn to practice, run back home, prepare everything, get Law ready for soccer, have Duane take him to soccer, and then grant me just enough time to toss everything in the oven while I ran back out to pick Autumn up from practice, then run back home and have everything plated by the time Duane returned with Law from soccer. It was split-second perfect timing. I was pretty proud of myself for coordinating it, since I’m not exactly a domestic diva.

 

But that Fever took hold of my husband. He actually wanted me to skip cooking supper so he could Shoot His Bow. So it would be Perfect for Saturday.

 

We had pork chops, sweet potatoes, and butterbeans for supper that night, in case you were wondering.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 12:35 pm

    Congrats to Lawton! Looks like you have two ‘manly men’ in the family now.

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    October 4, 2009 1:02 pm

    I know; isn’t it ridiculous? Autumn and I are struggling to hold our own against such testosterone overload.

  3. October 4, 2009 1:16 pm

    It will just get worse from here on out…brace yourself for the storm.

  4. October 11, 2009 3:15 pm

    My 2 oldest boys go on The Hunt with my husband and his brothers every year, too. It is a right of passage… something they get to do at the age of 8. I personally have NO love for anything involving shooting animals but have no problem with them getting in their “Man time.” THAT I get. And my boys are so thrilled to come home and tell me how many jackrabbits they shot, skinned and ate while camping (their proud dad smiling through it all) that even I look forward to The Hunt for the male-bonding time it provides.

Leave a Reply

