Skip to content

Clean Houses and Good Kids

October 5, 2009

My house was clean today for the first time in a looong time. Usually it’s clean in spurts–the den today, the kitchen tomorrow, the bedrooms a few days later–but nothing all at once. That just expends way too much energy, you know? And I’m easily distracted. I’ll pick up a pair of socks from the den, take them to the dirty clothes basket, start doing laundry, and before you know it, I’ve completely forgotten that I started off cleaning the den. So it might not get cleaned until sometime in the distant future.

fridgedoor_2075_704674941[1]

But I was motivated enough by the impetus of an impending Bible study this evening to actually get everything clean All At Once. So it would be perfectly understandable for me to feel just a tiny little sense of letdown when the call came that the study was cancelled. Out of seventeen women, only three of us were not sick or caring for sick children or spouses. That’s October in Virginia for you–eighty degrees one day, fifty-five the next, with forty-degree nights in between. “Sick” weather.

But you know…it was odd. That sense of letdown never came. I fired off a text message laughing at fate to a friend I’d shared coffee with earlier when I should have been running frantically around attending to last minute details, then went to pick the kids up from school. As originally planned, we spent the afternoon at home putting extra effort into homework and eating soft ‘n chewy chocolate chips. We had an easy dinner of scrambled eggs and fried bologna, and I deviously tricked my children into paying some extra attention to their bedrooms by telling them the first one to have a spick and span room would be the first one to get a new paint job. It was peaceful, and I could actually relax, because I was surrounded by a clean, cozy, home that was redolent of apple cider candles and Pledge.

I should probably do this more often, when people aren’t supposed to visit.

The kids and I took a little jaunt up into the field, too, to taunt the calves (they’re pretty cute right now–they like to race beside the car as if they’re wild mustangs instead of the least graceful animal on the planet). I snapped a few pictures of Autumn and Lawson in our barn, even though the light was starting to fade. I love how much my kids love each other, even when they act like they despise each other. It’s in every grin, every mischievous sideways look, every careless touch. They’re wonderful, and I am blessed.

One of my favorites--Lawson getting his britches caught on the barbed wire fence.

One of my favorites--Lawson getting his britches caught on the barbed wire fence.

 web2

web3

web11

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 8:39 pm

    The calves race the cars?? I’d love to see that!

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    October 5, 2009 8:44 pm

    Jess, it’s hysterical. And the momma cows get mad at them. When you drive back through the fields, and the calves try to run back toward the cars, you can see the momma cow nudging the calf and blocking it as if to say, “oh, no you don’t. You’ve had enough fun for today and given me a heart attack already.” Those little boogers are fast!

  3. hintonrae permalink*
    October 6, 2009 4:08 pm

    Jennifer from Facebook: Lovely childhood memories home made and will last forever. They will likely tell their children about the awesome evening when they ate cookies with mom, raced to clean their rooms and then went out to chase the calves. Simple Perfection.

  4. October 6, 2009 6:47 pm

    “To taunt the calves…” I love it! In fact, that last paragraph said it all.

    Also, the photos are great as well. One day, I am determined that we’ll meet in real life. Sorry that summer plans didn’t work out, I was really hoping that we’d have been able to meet up in California. Oh well, one day it will happen.

  5. October 11, 2009 3:08 pm

    I loved this post. Beautifully worded and beautifully photographed… your kids’ dimples kill me.

Leave a Reply

