Skip to content

Birthdays

October 9, 2009

Lawson recently had a birthday, and I’ve been struggling a little with what, precisely, to say about it–other than “Lawson had a birthday.”

I could tell you that my children’s birthdays, for some reason, tend to put me in a funk. I love planning their parties, and celebrating them, and being happy and excited with them…but I guess when it’s all said and done…they’re another year older. Another year away from being my babies. I’ll just stay away from that, though, because Law-man is fun, and I don’t want to be a funk when I talk about his birthday.

Law on his first birthday.

Law on his first birthday.

He gets so excited about things like this; it doesn’t matter whose birthday it is, really, as long as someone is having a birthday. He’d been asking for months when his seventh birthday was, and finally the day arrived. I woke him up, and he blinked up at me sleepily.

“Good morning,” I said softly. “Time to get up.”

“It’s my birthday.” He replied accusingly. “You need to tell me happy birthday.” I laughed. Usually it takes him a little while to wake up, but apparently not this morning.

I’d planned to make cupcakes for his class and bring him Chick-Fil-A for a special surprise lunch treat, and spent the morning making them.

bday3

Lawson's"best bud" Corbin. For the first month of school Law called him "you know...his mom and you play volleyball...we have a lot in common..."

Lawson's"best bud" Corbin. For the first month of school Law called him "you know...his mom and you play volleyball...we have a lot in common..."

 bday2

I didn’t plan a full-out birthday party, much to Lawson’s dismay. Instead, he had this “class” party and another, smaller family party at Ruby Tuesdays later that night, with chocolate cake and ice cream and plenty of loved ones gathered around. In part it was because our lives are so frenzied right now with all of the athletic practices and hours of homework that there just isn’t time to squeeze in one more thing, it seems; in part it was because everyone’s pockets are so pinched with the economy that I don’t like to ask people to buy gifts for a child to has everything and more that he needs. And, too…he simply doesn’t need a party every year.

He had a full out party last year. He asked for a “camping” party, and that’s what he got–tents in the basement, camping lanterns, a big fire for roasting hotdogs and smores, cupcakes, baked beans, chips, and other goodies…The kids painted “treasure boxes” in which they created camping themed shadow boxes, smashed a pinata…did all sorts of stuff. It was the kind of party you want to have every year.

law4

So, anyway–now that I’m recovered from the angst of it, Happy Birthday to Lawson.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 8:55 pm

    Happy Birthday Lawson!

    This is just for you…

    Of course, you’d better watch it first, Lori. You know, just to make sure that it isn’t too violent…

  2. hintonrae permalink*
    October 10, 2009 6:27 pm

    Jason–those screaming eggs are so funny and sweet. Lawson’s at his grandparents’ right now, but I can’t wait to show it to him…I’ll let you know his reaction.

  3. October 11, 2009 2:49 pm

    I love the pictures. They grow up much too quickly, don’t they? Happy birthday to your handsome little man.

Leave a Reply

