Skip to content

Mayhem

October 29, 2009

01351[1]

Have you ever tried to drive and listen to Matchbox 20 while your kids sing at the top of their lungs to Miley Cyrus in the backseat, blissfully unaware that there are other people in the vehicle? It goes a little something like this:

“It’s three a.m., I must be…CAN ALMOST SEE IT, THIS DREAM I’M DREAMING…says the rain’s gonna wash away, I believe…YOU’LL NEVER REACH IT…”

It’s odd, to say the least. And mildly annoying, and hysterical, all at the same time. Autumn and Lawson have recently taken to wearing headphones and popping their kiddie bop cds into the DVD player every blinking time we get in the car, and then singing along as loudly as they’re able to whatever asinine song is playing. I’m torn between ripping the DVD player out of the car and stifling my own shrieks of laughter.

car1

But I do neither of these. I smile, and add to the cacophony by turning the volume up on Q99 (best of the 70s, 80s, 90s, and today!) and belting it out along with ’em. My personal favorite combination so far is “You’re Beautiful” by James Blunt and Hilary Duff’s “Wake Up.”

“You’re beautiful…you’re beautiful…ON A SATURDAY NIGHT, COULD BE NEW YORK, MAYBE…cause I’ll never be with you…yeah, she caught my eye…WAKE UP, WAKE UP…”

Who knows. Maybe one day we’ll accidentally discover a really cool mash up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 2:13 pm

    That dimple gets me EVERY STINKIN’ TIME!

    And three cheers for singing mash-ups in the car.

  2. October 29, 2009 9:54 pm

    Oh, the sounds of music playing in the confines of your vehicle…

    You made me smile.

    Again.

Leave a Reply

