Skip to content

Your Funny for the Day

December 17, 2009
tags: ,

Another A. Taintor image. Available for purchase at http://www.annetaintor.com

Last night Duane and I were sitting peaceably in the adult den, minding our own beeswax, watching Mythbusters on t.v. (is it just me or is there Nothing on t.v. right now?) when Lawson busted into the room, shouting at cringeworthy decibels, “HOWDY, PARDNER!”

For.no.apparent.reason.whatsoever.

Well, Duane, being of juvenile mind and humor, laughed.

I, having had to press pause on the remote roughly 1,000,000,000 times this evening already (remember the no t.v. thing?), merely smiled a little, and said, “Lawson, if you want to preserve that extra fifteen minutes of playtime that I so generously gave you, go into the PLAYROOM and utilize it.”

Duane, being of juvenile mind and humor, said, “Son, do it again.”

I looked at him incredulously. As in, Have you lost your freaking mind? Because I know I spoke audibly just now.

“HOWDY, PARDNER!”

“Duane, what did I just say? Lawson, what did I just say?”

“SON, DO IT AGAIN!”

“HOWDY, PARDNER!”

I give up. I really, really do. I live in a loony bin.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 12:15 pm

    I think your husband and I could be friends. As much as I sympathize with you, THAT was funny.

  2. December 17, 2009 11:33 pm

    I would have told Lawson the same thing…

    Sorry about your sanity though.

  3. Lori permalink*
    December 18, 2009 7:56 pm

    It really is difficult to get a good mad on around this place. Have you ever tried to yell while smirking? Doesn’t work too well.

  4. December 29, 2009 12:00 am

    I so understand being the disciplinarian of the whole home and for the record, hubbies are hard to raise! 😉

  5. December 30, 2009 12:55 am

    So, mind if I drop in?

    Are you sure you want a third if all three are going to be yelling, “Howdy Pardner”? to you?

    Funny story. Good luck with talking your hubby into a third. I can just see it now. You give birth and your suckling comes out saying, “There’s a snake in my boot”!

  6. Lori permalink*
    December 30, 2009 10:13 am

    The more the merrier, I always say. Poor Lawson has two girl cousins and a sister–he’s so ganged up on! I keep trying to tell Duane that the odds of us having a boy to help even things out are really, really good (of course, there’d be around 8 years difference in their ages, but that’s a minor detail). Of course, it’d be my luck that we’d end up with another girl for poor Law to have to deal with. Then I guess we’d just have to keep trying, I suppose. And snakes are no biggies. Spiders….they’re another story.

  7. December 30, 2009 12:07 pm

    Well you should just drop on by cuz my Kirsten is the only girl surrounded by all of these testosterone booger pickin’ flingin’ brothers. Duane would fit right in and Kirsten would finally have someone to play dolls and paint toe nails with besides her handicapped brother! 😀

  8. Lori permalink*
    December 30, 2009 2:25 pm

    I wish I lived a little closer; I surely would! On the bright side, though–I grew up the only girl with 3 brothers, and they taught me great things about burping, spitting, playing football, baseball, and knowing how to stick up for yourself. It was great, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

