Skip to content

Legacy

January 12, 2010

Autumn is one of ten students competing in the elementary school spelling bee this morning at 9 a.m. I have to admit that I’m far more nervous for her than I ever was when I competed as a middle schooler, winning first my middle school bees, than the regional bees, and finally making it all the way to Scripps Howard Bee not once, but twice.

It was Fun.

There were kids, I recall, that had to be supported onstage, kids that puked just off-stage, and kids that made it to the “comfort room” and bawled like babies when they heard that little tinkling bell that harbinged the end of their middle school spelling career.

I played with my placard and the buttons on my dress, a photo that made it into the papers, much to my mother’s distress. I think I was contemplating the social that was to occur later in the evening and a certain slightly geeky, but sweet-faced boy, if I remember correctly.

Obviously the Forest Elementary School Spelling Bee is a little more low-key than that. Still, though—I’m  a little nervous for her. I think it’s because she so obviously wants to do well because Grandmommy Far-Away showed her those pictures and newspaper clippings of Her Mother the Spelling Bee Champ.

I mean, what a legacy. Wouldn’t it have been cool if it had been something like, Her Mother the Inventor of Microsoft, or something like that? Now that’s a legacy.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 8:56 am

    fun! i hope she does well and i would love to see that picture! 🙂

  2. January 12, 2010 9:04 am

    You rock the legacy, Lori! And I thought I was cool for making it to the state level three years running in elementary school. I am still haunted by the word that killed me in the FIRST ROUND at the district level in 2nd grade: principle. I had it in my head that ‘the princiPAL is your PAL’ the second they said the word and wasn’t even listening to the accompanying definition.

    Good luck to Autumn!

  3. January 12, 2010 10:49 am

    Oh cringe! Do I dare comment? There will be spelling errors……I promise! Cuz I never won any spelling anything in my life. 🙂 Grammatical errors come with the spelling errors. They go hand in hand.

    Good luck Autumn!!! What a fun legacy to follow.

  4. Lori permalink*
    January 12, 2010 11:36 am

    I am a proud momma–she ended up placing 5th–spelled “significant” “CIGNIFICANT” 😉

    And that photo is buried somewhere in all of my mom’s junk, I believe…I hope…

  5. Lori permalink*
    January 12, 2010 11:52 am

    Oh, Gerb–LOL. This is why you pause and take five. “Um. May I request the definition, please. (push glasses up on nose) May I please have the origin of the word? (pretend scratch on placard) Does this word by any chance also have Hindu derivation? No? Okay. (scrawl with fingertip some more) Could you use the word in a sentence, please? (look at ceiling entreatingly) Are there alternate pronunciations? (scratch on placard again) Could I hear the definition again, please? Okay. Bamboo. B-A-M-B-O-O. Bamboo.”

  6. Lori permalink*
    January 12, 2010 11:55 am

    Don’t worry, Rachel–I’m not laughing AT you, I’m laughing WITH you… 😉 Spelling and grammar errors are OKAY with this English teacher!

    Autumn ended up coming in 5th–got out on “significant” (spelled it with a “c” instead of an “s”). That’s my girl!

  7. Grandmommy Far-Away permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:17 pm

    You go GIRL!!!! SOOOO proud of you. Bees can become addictive! Wish I could have been there but maybe for another one! LOVE YOU BUNCHES!!

  8. January 12, 2010 9:46 pm

    So, no photo, eh? Bummer…

    Good for Autumn in placing in the event!

  9. Lori permalink*
    January 12, 2010 10:56 pm

    I’ll be sure to pass this along, Mom 🙂 Wish you could’ve been here, too…

  10. Lori permalink*
    January 12, 2010 10:57 pm

    I know–I’ll have to grab those next time I visit Mom in SC–she has all the embarrassing goodies and she enjoys pulling them out and showing my kids far too much. Thanks for the kudos. One proud mommy and one proud kiddo here.

Leave a Reply

