Skip to content

The Point of Winter

January 14, 2010
tags:

It’s been bitter cold around here lately—in the low twenties and even in to the teens a few times. (If you’re a Yankee or a North-Westerner, please don’t mock me. Forty’s cold for Virginia.) The read on my car thermometer read 10 the other morning when I got in to take the kids to school, but I had a hard time believing that. It was probably just trying to be funny and froze up or something.

People are starting their ritual “end of winter” complaint. “I’ll be glad when this cold is gone.” “Yeah, me too. I’ll be glad when summer gets here.” “I’m ready for some warm weather!”

I’m thinking: people please. It’s only January. It was exceptionally mild until maybe three or four weeks ago. We’ve only had one good snow. Come on. Honk if you love Winter.  

Honk. I love winter.

I know that’s strange. Most people are huddled miserably into their coats, watching and waiting for that first faint sign of spring.  I’m curled into my down comforter, taking hedonistic pleasure in the cozy warmth that cocoons me. A book is perched on my lap but I’m only barely reading it…my eyelids are heavy, drooping in sympathy with the pewter-laden skies outside.

I couldn’t, in good conscience, do this if the sun was shining and it was seventy degrees. I’d feel the need to be weeding something, or watering it, or planting it to begin with. When it’s bitter cold, though…I can convince myself that even sweeping the porch can wait for that first breath of warmth, and hibernate instead in my climate-controlled den.

I even like snow. Snow means I don’t have to wake up early in the morning. Instead, I can stretch and wallow around in my bed—my bed that I have all to myself, because my dear husband did have to wake up early in the morning (sorry, honey)—and I can be LAZY. I can turn my face away from the white light filtering in through the gauze of the sheers and DOZE, because my kids are now old enough to grab something from the full assortment of Breakfast Junk Food by themselves.

I don’t understand, in all honesty, what’s not to love about Winter. When you think about it, it’s clearly all about being warm, and being lazy. These are a few of my favorite things.  It’s  soup and chili to warm my insides and thick, funky socks to warm my feet, and not having to maintain my toenail polish. It’s occasionally (GASP!) not shaving my legs—because who’s going to see them? (Although I guess the whole world is going to know, now. Out of self preservation, I suppose I am now shaving my legs every.dang.day.)

I’m sorry, but a green salad and the necessity for shaving one’s legs are no match for a bowl of chicken n’dumplins and the right to just.say.umm.maybe.tomorrow.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 10:29 am

    My sentiments exactly! I feel thee exact same way. I love this time of year because I can sit and read or knit or pick my toes that haven’t been polished because the outside world is asleep and I don’t need to be out in it taking care. The guilt is gone.

    In the summer if I sit down for one minute five million weeds sprout and take over! Oh yes. Winter is the best.

  2. January 14, 2010 1:47 pm

    I’m with you, for the most part. I prefer wearing sweaters to short-sleeves and I LOVE lazing in bed when it’s chilly outside. Besides that, the snow brings something magical with it when it falls overnight. I don’t know how to describe it. I guess there’s just a certain beauty about seeing the world dressed in white.

  3. January 14, 2010 3:21 pm

    Thank you, Lori, for reminding me of the beauty of winter. I understand about slowing down and just enjoying it better. 🙂 It’s a time we can give ourselves permission to rest.

  4. January 14, 2010 3:27 pm

    hmmmm….i am too busy embracing this arizona winter to agree…i have to maintain (for my sanity of course) how fabulous flip flops in january can be. we took care of the yard work thing by living in a house with a rock yard. our floors are mostly tile…so the cold feet thing is taken care of…meaning, we have cold feet even though it is 70 stinkin’ degrees outside. oh, but the mountains…and the river…and…the trees…and….whimper…whimper….honk…honk….HONK! 🙂

  5. Lori permalink*
    January 14, 2010 9:04 pm

    Rachel–I think we share a flower bed. 5 million easy.

    Gerb–I love that magic, too, and it’s so rare around here. We’re lucky to get a snow like that once every ten to fifteen years.

    Cee–permission to rest: perfect. And thanks for the link. 😉

    Misty–you’re a riot. I have to say, though, I’d probably love 70 degree temps most of the time. It sort of goes from thirty to 95, with a 100% humidity, in the blink of an eye around here. Sux. And that rock yard thing could be pretty darn cool…

  6. Anaise permalink
    January 15, 2010 8:43 am

    Oh, I so agree with you. In spite of how hungry I am for warmth every Spring, there is a certain sorrow for the loss of my gentle, quiet winter.

  7. Lori permalink*
    January 18, 2010 10:19 am

    Anaise–I think it’s that “gentle” and “quiet” thing that’s so wonderful about it.

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Cee’s Thots

Leave a Reply

