Skip to content

Strong Opinions

January 21, 2010

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/video/2010/01/21/VI2010012100986.html

Sometimes there really are no words, even when the children are not yours, and the adults are no one you’ve known. You can only shake your head in disbelief, and grieve with the sympathy of humanity at the senselessness of it all.

What was he thinking? Children–a four year-old and three teens–some the children of his own brother and sister-in-law. His family. I wonder if that four year-old had climbed confidingly up in his lap in the days preceding this wholesale attack, and perhaps asked for a story, or a cuddle.

It sickens me.

The thing that sickens me most is the almost certain miscarriage of justice that is sure to follow: the “insanity” plea. The idea that this guy will be coasting off of the taxpayers’ dollars, getting three square and other essentials in his padded room, is a perversion. Excuse me while I hurl.

I could be wrong. We could get something right–I guess we’ll have to wait eight to twelve years or so and see how it all works out. By then, I probably won’t be quite as upset.

Right now my prayers are with the families and loved ones of those taken by Speight.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 11:47 pm

    I have to say…….I feel the same………the exact same as you do…..

  2. Grandmommy Far-Away permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:48 am

    Lori, You said everything that I am thinking. When I first heard of the shootings in Appomattox (just a quick blurb on the news without further details), I immediately tried to gather further information because of course, while I am in SC, Appomattox is HOME to me and someone I know probably knows these people. I too am sickened by the whole thing which probably will be blamed on money and ownership of the house left by the siblings deceased mother. If only she had some clue as to what would happen. My prayers to the entire family and community of the victims.

  3. January 22, 2010 10:28 am

    What a terrible tragedy. The whole thing just makes me sick inside.

  4. Greg Yates permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:31 am

    My sentiments exactly. . . senseless and sick. Four dead in Farmville, eight dead in Appomattox and three of those (mother, father and daughter) were what, friends of the family or at the very least acquaintances! These days the insanity seems to be occuring a little to close to home for me. Can someone point me to the nearest store that sells bars for windows and doors! The whole thing reminds me of a song lyric. “Stop the world, I want to get off. I get the definite impression that this isn’t how it’s meant to be.”

  5. Lori permalink*
    January 22, 2010 1:06 pm

    Rachel–it’s just so sad, and so frightening, that this kind of violence exists.

    Mom–sorry, I should’ve called. We were as much in the dark, though, as close as we were, as everyone else, though. Duane was actually hunting in the woods in and around Appomattox when all of this was going on–wearing camo and carrying a rifle, for Pete’s sake! Not cool! I’m just glad it ended with no further casualties.

    Gerb–I don’t think there’s a more natural reaction than that sick feeling–it’s the same way I feel when I hear of a “Susan Smith,” or a school shooting, or anything along those lines. It just doesn’t jibe with the way we were created to be, I don’t think.

    Greg–that lyric is the perfect sentiment. It’s definitely not the way things are supposed to be. And the Farmville episode was a grim precursor to this–one of the reasons I try to avoid the news on a good day, you know? ENTIRELY too close to home. I thought things like this were supposed to happen in NYC and Miami?

  6. January 22, 2010 5:54 pm

    My prayers are with you all. It is scary to live so close to something like that.

    This week here in ‘Sin City’ a disabled friend had his front door broken in during a rain storm. A young man stood inside, wet from the rain, claiming he wanted to kill and loot. Our friend has a permit for a weapon and defended himself against the angry youth as he attacked the disabled veteran. A young life lost, a mature life ruined by adding yet more death memories – for no apparent reason.

    These days are evil, as the Bible states….

    Hugs and Prayers to all.

  7. Lori permalink*
    January 22, 2010 8:27 pm

    Cee, how terrible! At least he was able to defend himself, though. And yes, these are evil days.

Leave a Reply

