Skip to content

Here’s to New Technology: the Apple IPad

January 28, 2010

Okay, I’m almost embarrassed to post this, but it falls into the category of “just too funny not to,” so here goes. I heard a snippet of this on the radio this morning, and unfortunately I can’t edit the video to stop it when you’ve seen enough to get the picture but you’ll…well…get the picture—and I figure that you’re man or woman enough to push the stop button when you’ve seen enough.

I received an email announcement this morning that Apple has just come out with a handy dandy IPad. It’s like a Kindle-turned computer, basically–a tablet-style computer that actually looks very cool if you’re into that sort of thing. Here it is, the Apple IPad .

As it happens, however, a fairly large segment of women are a little queasy about the whole “pad” thing. It just doesn’t have comfy connotations, ya know?

Q99, my beloved morning radio station, did a little research into the matter and discovered that MadTV had actually either comically predicted or, I suppose, had a line onto the Apple IPad several years earlier, and had created a pretty hilarious spoof on the product. This takes me back to the days where my older brother used to (very generously, just so I wouldn’t tattle) let me read portions of his Mad Magazine. Not all of it, but just enough to warp and corrupt my already borderline sense of the absurd. Turn on your sense of humor button before viewing:  MadTV’s Apple IPad Parody .

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 11:19 am

    Oh my gosh Lori!!!!! I am laughing hysterically. Where DO people come up with these things. I mean, this would NEVER cross my mind…….. 😀

    Thanks for the morning laugh.

  2. January 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    one minute and twenty seven seconds of pure undiluted hilarious. my heck….my stomach hurts.

  3. January 28, 2010 5:58 pm

    Hahaha Just love u! 🙂

    THANK YOU! 🙂

  4. Lori permalink*
    January 28, 2010 7:57 pm

    Good question, Rachel–I think MAD has specialized in people with these types of minds for a loooong time. It’s an art form. I’m just glad they exist for our amusement.

  5. Lori permalink*
    January 28, 2010 8:01 pm

    I live to make your stomach hurt, Misty! 😉

  6. Lori permalink*
    January 28, 2010 8:11 pm

    Glad you enjoyed a laugh! You have a great site–very info rich. Thanks for the visit.

  7. Super Sarah permalink
    January 31, 2010 11:47 pm

    I remember sneakily paying for Mad magazines and paper back books at yard sales so my parents wouldn’t know what I was reading, I thought that if they knew about it, it wouldn’t be funny anymore!

    THIS was hilarious! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Lori permalink*
    February 1, 2010 9:56 am

    Sarah, I don’t know how we actually got away with half of what we thought we did when we were kids. Were we cool or what?

Leave a Reply

