Skip to content

A Hundred Things

February 6, 2010

Natalie started it.

She just had to throw down that gauntlet with her own little list of favorites, and inspire everybody else. So here’s my own list—organized a little differently, because I’m a little retentive that way.

People

  1. Duane
  2. Autumn
  3. Lawson
  4. Mom
  5. Grandma
  6. Brothers
  7. Aunts and Uncles
  8. Cousins
  9. Nieces and nephews
  10. Little Jimmy Dickens
  11. Simon Cowell
  12. New friends
  13. Old friends
  14. Bill Cosby
  15. In-laws

Things

  1. Good haircuts
  2. A clean house
  3. My Kindle
  4. My IPod
  5. The cell-phone calendar alarm
  6. TIvo
  7. Volleyball
  8. Reading
  9. Writing
  10. Photography
  11. A cell phone
  12. Buckle Jeans
  13. Travel
  14. Danskos
  15. The blogosphere
  16. TV shows like: Lost, Fringe, Glee, Castle, Flashforward, and Bones
  17. Roadtrips
  18. Brighton jewelry
  19. Feeling inspired
  20. Massages

Smells

  1. Clean baby smell
  2. New car smell
  3. My Body Shop vanilla spice body butter
  4. Dryer sheets
  5. Cinnamon and harvest-scented Yankee candles
  6. Supper cooking
  7. Brownies baking
  8. Ozone
  9. A leather ball glove
  10. Pledge

Sounds

  1. Rain, on a tin roof or on window panes
  2. Birds chittering in the morning
  3. Choirs breaking it down
  4. Bluegrass music
  5. The shrill of a fiddle
  6. The wail of a bagpipe
  7. Autumn’s giggle
  8. Tires crunching on a gravel road
  9. A hound dog’s mournful bay
  10. The rise and fall of summertime cicadas

Sights

  1. The plump curve of a baby’s cheek
  2. My son’s infectious grin
  3. Snow on tree branches
  4. Fall leaves
  5. The brilliant, soft green of spring grass
  6. A pregnant belly in silhouette
  7. Just a hint of five-o-clock shadow
  8. Sunlight through sheers
  9. Storm clouds swelling over the ocean
  10. My dog’s happy dance when she gets a treat

Textures

  1. Nubby sweaters
  2. Soft, silky cashmere blend sweaters
  3. My husband’s hair right after he buzzes it
  4. My cat’s fur
  5. Sand between my toes
  6. Fuzzy socks
  7. Fleecy blankets
  8. The smack of a leather Tachikara against my palm
  9. Thermal tops
  10. Gritty sugar scrubs

Tastes

  1. Andes mints
  2. Bananas Foster
  3. Meatloaf and mashed potatoes
  4. Coca-Cola
  5. Sweet Tea
  6. Chick-fil-A sandwiches
  7. Potato soup
  8. Chicken and dumplings
  9. Cinnamon gum
  10. Vanilla ice cream
  11. Pulled pork
  12. Filet mignon
  13. Fresh strawberries
  14. Cream of tomato soup, a grilled cheese,& Anne’s sweet pickles on the side
  15. Nachos

Bits of wisdom

  1. To be hopeful in bad times is not just foolishly romantic. It is based on the fact that human history is a history not only of cruelty, but also of compassion, sacrifice, courage, kindness. What we choose to emphasize in this complex history will determine our lives. If we see only the worst, it destroys our capacity to do something. If we remember those times and places — and there are so many — where people have behaved magnificently, this gives us the energy to act, and at least the possibility of sending this spinning top of a world in a different direction.And if we do act, in however small a way, we don’t have to wait for some grand utopian future. The future is an infinite succession of presents, and to live now as we think human beings should live, in defiance of all that is bad around us, is itself a marvelous victory. –Howard Zinn
  2. If builders built houses the way programmers built programs, the first woodpecker to come along would destroy civilization. –Gerald Weinberg
  3. I want a busy life, a just mind, and a timely death. –Zora Neale Hurston
  4. Imagination is more important than knowledge. For while knowledge defines all we currently know and understand, imagination points to all we might yet discover and create. –Albert Einstein
  5. Imagine all the people living life in peace. You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world will live as one. –John Lennon
  6. Age is something that doesn’t matter, unless you are a cheese. –Billie Burke
  7. None are so old as those who have outlived enthusiasm. –Henry David Thoreau
  8. Common sense ain’t common. –Will Rogers
  9. Marriage is our last, best chance to grow up. –Joseph Barth
  10.  For two people in a marriage to live together day after day is unquestionably the one miracle the Vatican has overlooked. –Bill Cosby

So there it is. A hundred things that are dear to me. I’m sure by tomorrow I’ll think of a hundred more.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 9:00 pm

    Lori, I love the categories! You know the best part of this challenge for me has been seeing the ‘spin’ those who have accepted it have put on their own posts. That and what we all have in common…We could definitely be friends. 🙂

    Thank You for playing along.

  2. Lori permalink*
    February 6, 2010 10:45 pm

    Nat–I’m just thrilled to have been so inspired! These first few months of the year can be so BLAH, especially when compounded by inches on inches of snow and nothing much happening…it was fun to play along, and it’s fun to read everyone’s lists. We’ll just count ourselves as “wired” buddies and have long distance tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches someday. And maybe a chat. 😉

  3. February 6, 2010 11:55 pm

    Loved the lists, Lori…wow, I’ve got some alliteration going on there, don’t I? I realized that there are a few items on your lists that I didn’t put on my own (which I should have).

  4. February 7, 2010 1:15 am

    Oh count me in on the tomato soup and grilled cheese! And let’s talk about Brighton jewlery and discuss how we can get our plump cheeks to be as adorable as a babies and our skin as soft….

    Love your list Lori and love how you categorized it. Very fun!

  5. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 8:46 am

    J–:) I think we’re all doing the same thing as we look at each other’s lists…seeing familiar faces and thinking, ‘man, why didn’t I think of that?’

    And alliteration is awesome.

  6. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 8:57 am

    Rach–I told Nat we needed to have a virtual lunch someday of tomato soup with grilled cheese sandwiches, and chat on FB or something…sound like fun? 😉

  7. February 7, 2010 9:09 am

    Great list! Love the categories; made for easy reading! Thanks for visiting my blog. Isn’t it fun?

  8. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 10:13 am

    Anita–it’s fast becoming an addiction…I’m rather thankful for snowdays right about now. 🙂

  9. February 7, 2010 11:30 am

    Danskos? Tachikara?

    I love that you put it into categories. I’ve been working on my list since Natalie issued the challenge and I can’t decide how to list them. Most favorite first? Save the best for last? No order at all? Eventually I’ll get mine posted.

    Reading yours made me want to add a few more things though… Andes mints, cicadas & pregnant bellies, to name a few. (sigh) I don’t think I’ll ever finish!

  10. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 1:17 pm

    Gerb, Danskos (http://www.dansko.com/) are these completely fabulous clog-type of shoes that are somewhat orthopedic in nature but totally styling. I love ‘em. They’re Danish, hence the name. And Tachikara is only the BESTEST volleyball out there. It’s probably Japanese or something…I don’t really know. I just know that it’s awesome.

    And I had the same problem as you when I was reading Natalie and Jason’s lists…it’s hard not to say “oh, yeah, that’s totally my fave, too…” SOOOOO I say go ahead. Knock yourself out. I think it’s cool to have the same favorites.

  11. February 7, 2010 2:25 pm

    Lori, You’re on! As long as you don’t mind that I slurp my grilled cheese sandwich when I dip it. 😀

  12. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 7:00 pm

    What, I’m supposed to mind that sort of behavior? I thought that was cool…

  13. Super Sarah permalink
    February 7, 2010 10:09 pm

    Well, as a blogger who has completely and totally run face-first into a writer’s block of exponential proportions, I embrace this 100 things whole-heartedly!!

  14. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 11:19 pm

    Waiting on your 100, Sarah! (And you’re not alone…I hear writer’s block is making the rounds…) 😉

Leave a Reply

