Skip to content

Gallery 1

February 7, 2010

So here’s my first Gallery Exhibition. I had my first set of photos all ready to go. They were of a soccer game of Lawson’s, and they were So Cute. There was this really big girl, and then all the other kids were midgets in comparison, and it was just too funny. And they were actually good. Lots of Lawson’s cheeky grins, and some stop-action…

…but…

Isn’t there always but?

But then it snowed. And there was this pretty green shed, and some barbed wire.  And some dead ironweed (at least, I think it’s ironweed–I could have my botany wrong.) 

And that’s pretty much all she wrote. The soccer game will be on hold for another week, but in the meantime, I hope you enjoy the green shed.

On all photos, I added a “hard light” layer that had the effect of boosting the intensity of the light quality just a bit and giving your photos just a little extra “pop”. To do this, you need an Adobe Photoshop program. I use CS4, butI’m pretty sure you can do it in Elements, too.

  • First, add a layer to your open photo (done easily by clicking Ctrl + J in CS4).
  • Next, in the layers palette, you should see a little box on the left-hand side that says “Normal.” Click on the drop-down arrow and select “Hard Light” from the selections that appear.
  • You’ll notice an immediate, distinctive change in your photo. To adjust this change, click on the opacity slider (on the right hand side of the layers palette) and play until you get your photo where you want it.

I’ve found it easier to do any other adjusting like sharpening, contrast, blacks, etc prior to making this adjustment.

Autumn was along for the ride and is always up for a modeling assignment. There was a low hanging pine branch dipped across the road, buried in snow, and she took a few minutes to stand patiently underneath while I snapped a few shots.

*A note about Galleries: galleries will remain on my main page for a week, and will then be moved to appear under the “Weekly Gallery section. Thanks for looking! 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 11:26 am

    I love old, weathered barns and buildings. Beautiful shots!

  2. February 7, 2010 11:47 am

    The contrast of white and green is great.

  3. February 7, 2010 2:45 pm

    Lori, These are wonderful! I love the snow and the shed!

  4. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 7:01 pm

    Danka…or is it danke?

  5. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 7:01 pm

    Thanks–it drew me. I’m a color person.

  6. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 7:03 pm

    Thanks, Gerb–me, too. I did this whole, terrible, pretentious series of old barns and decrepit houses before I realized it was a phase that every would-be photographer goes through. So I threw them all away.

  7. February 7, 2010 9:38 pm

    I do like that green color. My favorite of the group is the second picture. Very nice.

  8. Lori permalink*
    February 7, 2010 11:34 pm

    Thanks, Shanna–that green calls my name every time I drive down that little lane, but I never make time to stop and snap a few pics. I’m glad I did this time.

  9. Anaise permalink
    February 8, 2010 8:35 am

    Beautiful! My favorite is the third–wire fencing, ironweed (if you’re right about that being what it is 🙂 ) and the shed as background–something about it is just so right.

  10. Lori permalink*
    February 8, 2010 10:19 am

    Thanks, Anaise! Beautiful compliment!

  11. February 8, 2010 5:49 pm

    Hi! I found your blog through Dan Smith’s blog. I just wanted to let you know that I absolutely *love* these photographs. I sat a spell and read some, and I’ve added you to the blogs I follow. I look forward to reading (and seeing) more…

  12. Lori permalink*
    February 8, 2010 8:55 pm

    Michele–thanks so much for your kind comment! I appreciate the follow–it’s always nice to know someone’s out there reading. 😉

Leave a Reply

