Skip to content

A Blingiddy Valentines

February 11, 2010

I Heart Duane.

He made me all giggly and giddy today, and after nearly fifteen years, that’s kind of hard to do.

You see, I decided, being all female and suchlike, that I wanted jewelry for Valentine’s Day. It’s been a while since I’ve wanted jewelry (usually it’s just a random Brighton addition for me), but every now and then I get a hankering. Duane, being all husbandly and agreeable and suchlike, told me that I could go and visit the jeweler so I could make the selection. He’s made the selection for me before, and done fairly okay…but jewelry today is so much more than just a sentimental journey. It’s a personal statement, as well. It’s representative of who you are, and how you want to be perceived. Duane, being infinitely wise to the ways of his wife, knows it’s better to let me decide such weighty issues, and now leaves the selection process up to me.

So, I first checked out some designers online. There was John Hardy. Then some David Yurman.  I figured that they would probably look better in person, and decided I’d be better off visiting the local store. But while I was online, I skipped on over to Tiffany and Co. and fell in love with the Return to Tiffany and Tiffany 1837 collections. So I made up a nifty little wishlist and emailed it to my husband at work, telling him not to buy anything yet…I still wanted to visit the jeweler.

I slipped in a visit to the jeweler this afternoon on my way to take Autumn to tumbling (I just love to multi-task, don’t you?). Once there, surrounded by the sparkle of gems and the dull gleam of gold, my practical side asserted itself, and I listed on my wishlist a sturdy but beautiful Swiss Army watch with a pale pink face. I haven’t worn a watch since my last one officially died a couple of years ago. I tossed in a couple of David Yurman items, since I have sort of longed for some for a while, but only in an offhand, “if everything else on your list has been crossed off” sort of way. And then I made my way over to the diamond engagement bands.

I can hear you asking “ummm…why?” from Virginia. I know…I’ve been married fourteen and a half years. I’ve had a diamond. Two, actually. They were both stolen. My hands have a tendency to swell with heat, or any kind of manual labor, and the first was stolen when I removed its constricting presence in my eighty-some degree classroom and placed it in my desk. It was gone by the end of the school day.  The second went missing from my own home. All I’ll say on that subject is that I now clean my own house.

Because I’ve shrunk a little, and my wedding band has stayed the same size, I’ve been basically going ringless for the better part of five years. The last time I wore it, in fact, it slipped straight off of my finger into the trashcan when I was scraping the dishes. I don’t like it, but I don’t want to lose it, either.

So it was for kicks and giggles that I listed a beautiful diamond ring among the items on my wishlist. I just wished I could see Duane’s face when he saw it. “Right,” I could just about hear him mutter. “Like that’s going to happen.”

Duane arrived home shortly after five and tossed me a wrapped box, complaining all the while about the prices of everything I’d picked out. “I hope you like your watch,” he said.

“I will love it!” I said, tearing into the wrapping enthusiastically. It didn’t hit me until the wrapping was gone that the box was a little on the small side for a watch.

I opened the jeweler’s box to reveal the traditional black felted ring box within. “THE RING! YOU GOT THE RING! I CAN”T BELIEVE YOU ACTUALLY BOUGHT THE RING!”

Guess the joke was on me. Needless to say…I was quite shocked, pleased, and excited. Happy Valentines Day, albeit a little early, for me.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 9:04 am

    awwwww…pretty!!!!!

  2. February 12, 2010 9:58 am

    That’s a good man you’ve got there, Lori. Beautiful ring!

  3. February 12, 2010 11:59 am

    Sigh…………how romantic!!

  4. February 12, 2010 7:28 pm

    Oh Lori….He is a keeper!
    And so is that ring.
    WOW, it is beautiful and probably about what I would pick out if I could have a new ring…How did you say you lost yours again??? 😉

  5. February 12, 2010 8:17 pm

    Cool! Congratulations! And, I have to agree with Gerb… Your husband sounds like a great guy! 😉

  6. February 12, 2010 10:38 pm

    Wow from the photo that looks like two karats easily not including the side ones! Isn’t it great when hubbies get the suddle hints that we give them and follow through. Mine would have ended it with saying something like,”And you thought I don’t listen to you.”
    Gotta love them!

  7. February 13, 2010 1:13 am

    Wow, that is one ROMANTIC Valentine’s Day gift – the ones that are the best have a little *history* behind them!!

  8. Lori permalink*
    February 14, 2010 12:32 pm

    Misty–That’s what I said when I saw it in the store…”pretty!”

    Gerb–He’s a keeper, for sure!

    Rachel–it’s not often, but every now and then he hits the romance button.

    Nat–…still laughing….;) I’m thinking I will probably install some sort of alarm on this one…

    Corine–thanks! I think all those times I sat out in the woods, shivering miserably and slathered in doe pee, finally paid off.

    Bonnie–I honestly don’t have a clue how many carats it is–I just thought it looked good with the wedding band. Is that bad? I guess I need to check on that… And yes, I stand amazed that he picked up on that little hint.

    Sarah–he turned up the heat, for sure. 🙂

  9. February 14, 2010 9:42 pm

    Wow! That is gorgeous!
    Yay for your hubby. *grin*
    I lost my engagement ring within a week of receiving it. Boy, did I feel awful! My mom’s cleaning ladies found it. Under the couch. No idea how it got there, but I sure was thankful!

  10. February 14, 2010 10:38 pm

    beautiful ring!!!:) sounds like a good hubby you have there! thanks for stopping by….

  11. Anaise permalink
    February 15, 2010 8:55 am

    Oooooh! WOW!

    What a guy!

    What a ring!

    What a Valentine’s Day!

    I’d be giddy and giggly, too.

  12. Lori permalink*
    February 15, 2010 9:45 am

    Thanks, Karen–and you are so lucky! I tore every couch and chair in the house apart…and the beds, and every basket, every bookcase, every drawer…just in case I’d missed something. Oh, well. I guess somethings are just meant to be. Maybe it helped someone out at a tough time. 🙂

  13. Lori permalink*
    February 15, 2010 9:46 am

    Thank you, Debbie, and ditto! I am a lucky girl, and trying hard to remember that day to day…

  14. Lori permalink*
    February 15, 2010 9:47 am

    One of the best, for all categories, Anaise 🙂

  15. February 15, 2010 11:55 am

    Gorgeous! Don’t ever take it off now!!! (Just found you after looking at old comments on my blog…lol!)

  16. Barbara permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:26 pm

    Gorgeous Ring!!!

Leave a Reply

