Skip to content

Weekend Dish #3: Banana Nut Bread

February 15, 2010

I have notoriously bad luck with banana nut bread. That’s just my own personal opinion. I have this one fairly decent recipe, with excellent flavor, but it never manages to “set up” in the center. And then there’s this other recipe that bakes perfectly–with precision, and accuracy, and all that other good stuff that you like to have when you bake things–but it’s just sort of blah on the taste scale. And a bit dry.

I love banana nut bread, though, and go through periods when I seriously crave it in the morning slathered with real butter and accompanied by a cup of hot tea, so it was time to find or create a good recipe.

I’m so proud of my recipe-combining and -tinkering abilities. This concoction is a keeper.

Banana Nut Bread

Ingredients: (for 2 loaves)

3 Ripe Bananas (the riper, the moister the bread!)
2 Eggs
1.5 cups Flour
one stick butter, softened a bit in microwave
1/2 cup Chopped Walnuts
1.5 cups Sugar
1 tsp. Baking Soda

1tsp. lemon juice
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

2 tbsp. heavy cream
Pinch of Salt

 

How to make it:

Preheat oven to 375°F
1. Sift flour and baking soda together and reserve.

2. In another bowl, stir sugar, eggs, vanilla, cream, lemon juice, and butter until well blended. Add flour mixture, and stir until smooth.

3. Mash bananas with a fork and stir into batter. Then add nuts and stir well.

4. Butter (or spray) two loaf pans (or other baking dish if you don’t have a loaf pan–a Bundt pan works well) and pour in batter. Bake for about 55 minutes. The banana bread is done when a knife inserted comes out clean.

5. Let cool off for about ten minutes and then remove from baking dish.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 11:05 pm

    Oh, YUM! I love banana nut bread. In fact, I was just talking about baking some of this myself. I’ll have to try your recipe.

  2. February 16, 2010 9:19 am

    Am I the only blogger who doesn’t blog recipes? I’m glad the rest of you do… I love banana nut bread! 😉 I also love the photo collage. BTY – If you don’t mind me asking, how do you make a collage like that? If it isn’t a hassle, I’m hoping you can you direct me to where I can learn to do it. 🙂

    I’m anxious to try out your recipe. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Lori permalink*
    February 16, 2010 10:47 am

    Michele-it took me a while to get it right, but it was worth it.

    Corine-I’ve had recipes on for a while, but I just started taking photos–it encourages me to try new things, I’ve found. And I’m copying Gerb. 😉

    The collage is SUPER easy. 1) Download Picasa (free–just google picasa.com or something like that). Any photos stored on your computer are uplinked automatically to Picasa, and you’ll have a little desktop icon handy to click on. 2) When you open Picasa, there’s a list on the left of all of your folders; find the one you want, and 3) use the CTRL button to highlight the 5 or 6 photos that you’d like to make a collage of. 4) Then, up at the top, there will be a “Create” button. Click that, 5) scroll down to “Collage” and a page comes up that allows you to create a collage with those photos. 6) There are options within the collage if you desire to use them–a slider that will allow you to create a border in btw the photos if you wish to do so, or you can go border-less, or, if you click on the individual photo within the collage, you can edit it in different ways, such as turning it black and white.

    There’s a lot you can do in Picasa very quickly and simply–adding text, colorizing, etc. I do major edits in CS 4 and play a little in Picasa.

  4. February 16, 2010 12:17 pm

    Lori, I saw your post on FB this morning. I was going down the list and my baby (he’s four) said, “Go back! Go back up!” So I scrolled back up and he pointed at your link with the photo of your banana nut bread and said, “I just love that stuff!” 😀

  5. February 16, 2010 12:20 pm

    okay, can you come up with a recipe that has grated carrots as well? the one i did was all gooey and gross….but i want it still…it could be really good and pretty…..

    i am patient…i will wait…..let me know when you do that for me, k? 🙂 *wink wink*

  6. February 17, 2010 12:02 am

    Lori, I love banana bread- minus the nuts. I maybe a little (or alot) nutty , but I prefer (most) of my foods not to be.
    But I will try your recipe- sans nuts. I will just add chocochips instead.

  7. Lori permalink*
    February 17, 2010 9:13 am

    Rachel–that is too hilarious, and too sweet. I think I love your baby, who obviously has great taste.

    Misty–I have never heard of bnb with carrots–my brain is spinning (in a good way, don’t worry!) That sounds terrific. I have a great carrot cake recipe that’s giving me inspiration…I’ll et you know as soon as I come up with something….

    Nat–don’t feel badly–my husband is a nut freakoid, and refuses to eat brownies without them. I always make half the dish with and half without, because I personally don’t care that much for them. BNB I can take either way. Now choc chips…that sounds gooooood.

  8. February 20, 2010 12:57 am

    Big fan of banana bread here….I’ll be trying this one….looks yummy!

  9. Lori permalink*
    February 20, 2010 9:07 am

    Thanks, Kristen 🙂

Leave a Reply

