Skip to content

Gallery 2: Soccer

February 17, 2010

I was out of town this weekend, and didn’t get around to posting my weekend gallery photos. So here they are, a little late.

This is one of Lawson’s soccer games that was surprisingly entertaining. Most games can be a little yawn-worthy, but there was a Very Tall Girl on the oppposing team that had everyone’s shinguards in a twist. “No way she’s seven!” was the chief complaint, with all kinds of variations.

 

When Lawson had his timeout period, he fumbled over to collapse on Duane’s lap and drink his Gatorade. “Did you see that? Big Girl ’bout knocked my teeth out,” he gasped between gulps.

Ah, Lawson. The soul of wit and discretion.

His father’s child.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 11:51 am

    What a good mom you are! I used to have The Natives in soccer. Running five different kids to five different fields and practices took it right out of me. I declared soccer of the devil himself! Just don’t tell The SM that…….he’s totally into soccer and coaches some years.

  2. February 17, 2010 3:08 pm

    I especially love how that last picture makes it look like the girls are after him… I think it’s a great predictor of what you’re going to be in for in a few years!

  3. February 17, 2010 3:32 pm

    I love your weekend gallery idea! I may start doing something like that. My kids aren’t as “cute” as they used to be (teenagers – yeah); maybe I will actually get back into taking photos of them if I set a goal of doing – something – each week. I’m inspired! 🙂

    BTY – Your son is adorable! I sepecially like the expresson on his face in the “his father’s child” photo. Great photos, and way to go as a mom!!!! 🙂

  4. February 17, 2010 5:48 pm

    What FUN photos!!! I love watching kids get out there and play. It’s also fun to see what they learn while they are out there, like if you wanna keep yer teeth in yer mouth, stay away from The Big Girl!!

  5. February 17, 2010 7:10 pm

    Your son is adorable! So expressive! I miss the days of soccer games.

  6. Anaise permalink
    February 18, 2010 8:59 am

    My favorite is the one of the opposing teammates standing comfortably side by side watching the game.

  7. Lori permalink*
    February 18, 2010 9:31 am

    R–ack! Isn’t that a killer? And I only have 2. Autumn’s tumbling is what gets us–4 days a week, 2 1/2 hrs/day, all year long. I felt badly, but with her competition season starting in January and going thru July, we just couldn’t do spring soccer. It’s fall sports only for my boy–at least until somebody’s driving.

    G–isn’t that hilarious? I love that little girl–she’s a sweetheart. She would keel over in horror if she knew it looked like she was chasing Lawson in adoration. (and so would her daddy…)

    Corine–thanks! And I am sure that your kids, even as teens, are super-cute. At least, I recall teaching some super-cute teenagers once upon a time. 😉 As for the gallery–it’s just a way, more than anything, to get these photos out of my photoshop and in the open–to do something positive with them and remember them. So go for it!

    Sarah–SO TRUE! Valuable life lessons–HAHAHAHA!

    Michele–thanks–we think he’s kind of dangerously cute, if that makes sense. His dimples make discipline difficult. (How’s that for alliteration?)

    Anaise–I love that one, too–love that these kids can do that. It’s not all about competition. It’s about getting along, and learning the sport, and having fun. And getting your teeth knocked out, of course. 😉

Leave a Reply

