Skip to content

Blogus Interruptus

March 16, 2010

I’m sure some of you have noticed my non-blogging status here in the past few weeks. I have no real reason for not posting, other than I have had nothing to say.

It’s odd, really. For several months, I was full of words. The smallest thing would seize and inspire me, and I had a veritable backlog of half-written posts scribbled in odd places–on envelopes and post-it notes, grocery receipts, and random junk mail–just waiting to be polished and published.

Then the words dried up.

I’m not really sure why. Maybe it’s Spring Fever. Perhaps it’s an overloaded to-do list that keeps my brain too busy for small inspirations. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been subjecting my husband to merciless Chinese Water Torture when it comes to that third baby, and it takes every ounce of creativity I can dredge up to continue.

Just the other day we were talking about how great it would be for a new couple to bring some children into the church. Duane said, “We really need that…some new children would be great for the church.”

I shot him a sly sideways look. “Umm, yeah…you know that we could help with that, right? I would love to introduce a new child to the church…”

“Please stop, I’m begging you,” he pleaded. “You’re wearing me down.”

Yes, there was a little almost-victory shimmy. Almost, but not yet.

But  back to the words. They’ve slowly been returning: these little bursts of recognition when an everyday happenstance triggers something…a certainty, perhaps, that someone will want to know that. An awareness of our common humanity, our sameness enlightened by subtle distinctions of time and place, form, and function.

Such an event occurred as I was driving the kids home from school this afternoon. We’re riding amiably along, discussing the day’s assignment or Tuesday folder and whatnot, when out of the blue Autumn hollers, “OMG that horse is POOPING!”

Yes, readers, this is the burst of “recognition” that inspired a post…a pooping horse. I kept eyes forward as I, predictably, inched along behind a particularly slow-moving driver, who had, no doubt, slowed to witness said pooping horse.  I was not to be spared the details, though, as Autumn and Lawson proceeded to give me a blow-by-blow.

“It’s tail is totally up in the air!”

“And stuff…”

 I’ll forgo the blow-by-blow for you, as I’m sure you get the idea. The funny thing is–it’s not like they haven’t seen an animal take a crap before. We live on a farm with cattle, for heaven’s sake. We dodge cowpies when we walk in the fields. We have to frequently bathe a chihuahua who, for some strange reason, likes to wallow in cow pies. We have a cat, and a dog.

Everybody Poops, as the saying goes.

So why was this poop special?

Some things are just meant to remain mysteries, I’m thinking.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 6:13 pm

    Ya know! My kids have been around and seen horses crap all of the time and it still makes them stop, stare, make disgusting noises, and then laugh at eachother over who can be more disgusting. It’s a poop;fart;burp thing. Heck! I even can’t keep a straight face sometimes.

  2. March 16, 2010 9:20 pm

    I am with you on feeling ‘dried out’ lately. There have been times when I have absolutely nothing to say, but try to say something regardless.

    I knew we were friends for a reason; you know, that whole ‘birds of a feather’ thing…

    Hope the dry spell ends for us both.

  3. March 16, 2010 9:21 pm

    By the way, I burst out laughing while reading your post.

    Thanks.

  4. March 16, 2010 9:35 pm

    Okay, so there’s this fascination with poop–for whatever reason. And, trust me, it’s not something that resides in children alone. I live on a Very Busy Boulevard, and I have to walk our two dogs down to the corner to take care of business. Never, not one time, can this take place without someone staring, pointing, snickering, and/or commenting from a vehicle whizzing 40 mph down the street. I appreciate the sanctity of a water closet each and every day!

  5. March 16, 2010 10:25 pm

    Kids are always fascinated with poop…mine included! Take whatever inspiration you can get! 🙂

  6. March 16, 2010 10:49 pm

    It seems to me that the actual act of writing gets me through the writer’s block. I suppose it’s a good thing I have an assigned day on 4P once a week – it keeps those brain juices flowing. Thanks for all of the comments today – a post on the 5K is soon forthcoming. 😉

    Glad to have you back!

  7. Anaise permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:36 am

    I did notice you were missing, and I’ve sent good thoughts your way just in case something was wrong–but then you were posting at Four Perspectives, so I knew you were still okay.

    I’ve had the nothing to say experience, too.

    I’m glad you’re having something to say again.

  8. Grandmommy Far-Away permalink
    March 17, 2010 1:24 pm

    This is too funny! They are MY grandkids! Got to love em!

  9. March 17, 2010 2:09 pm

    This post made me feel like a kid again, so here is your comment- He, he. You said “poop”.(Snicker, snicker, snort.)

    It’s nice to see ya around again!

  10. Lori permalink*
    March 17, 2010 9:32 pm

    Rachael–ah, the finer of life’s inspirations–bodily functions. The sad part is that I’m snorting with stifled laughter right alongside my kids. Infantile. I love it.

    Jason–Ditto that! And I’m so glad I made you laugh–that makes my day. 😉

    Michele–your comment recalls me to this one unforgettable moment in Paris, when I happened to peer out over my hotel balcony and discovered…a homeless man pooping in the street. It was very disturbing, to say the least. And, as I mentioned, quite unforgettable.

    Kristen–hear, hear!

    Gerb–I feel the same way about that requisite post–it has made me feel somewhat in the loop of things. And I bought a book, actually, to help with this whole blockage issue–it has a writing prompt for every day, with some alternative choices. Some are pretty cheesy, but it’ll keep me going, I think.

    Anaise–thanks for those good thoughts…they must’ve worked.

    Mom–definitely your genes, huh? 🙂

    Natalie–perfect. Just perfect. (Snort.)

  11. March 17, 2010 9:55 pm

    This is the crappiest post I’ve read and LOVED! Sorry I had to go there!

    Life is so daily, isn’t it? Just know we love it when you post and for me, it’s ALWAYS worth the wait!

  12. Lori permalink*
    March 18, 2010 8:50 am

    Oh, Cee…I just love this comment. The “crappiest post you’ve read and loved”… 🙂 And life is kind of daily–truth!

  13. March 18, 2010 8:57 am

    LOL- My favorite part of this post is the bit about you wearing your husband down – about adding another kid to the church group. 😉 Good luck with that… I can see that you are both good people who raise a good family, so I hope you wear him down to a plea! ;D

  14. March 18, 2010 2:04 pm

    I go through this loop several times a month (not the pooping thing, but the writing thing) and I was really bummed when my husband decided to clean out MY bedside drawer and throw away all my odd and ends of post-it’s and scraps of paper with my brilliant blogging ideas on them. *sigh*

    SOOO glad you are back!

  15. Lori permalink*
    March 18, 2010 8:27 pm

    Corine–thank you for that vote of confidence. I’m working on it. 🙂

    Sarah–Your husband cleans out your drawer? WOW. I can’t get mine to clean out his own drawers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

