Skip to content

Weekend Gallery 4: Journeys

March 19, 2010

In roughly a month, I’ll be climbing aboard a very large plane and flying to Rome.

I am so excited. It’s like waiting for Christmas.

It got me to thinking about other wonderful trips I have taken–London and Paris exactly ten years ago, Disney!, California, Texas, and not so very long ago, New York City.

This had to have been one of my all-time favorite trips, aside from London/Paris, which I only have some film prints to remember by. NYC was energy. It was vivid and alert and awake in ways you just don’t get until you go there.

Here are a few of my NYC photos:

There are other trips, though, which, while not quite as exciting and adventurous, hold a special place in my thoughts. Our anual drive through the Parkway on the way to Gatlinburg, TN, is one such trip. I’ve been doing some variation of this trip since I was a kid, but I never fail to appreciate the slow-paced, other-worldly quality of the Blue Ridge. The trip is the journey, here. It begs the driver to stop, loose the kids, and test the creek waters with your toes.

 

I remember as a kid clambering out of the car at one of the little shops along the way, hyped up because it was Yoo-Hoo and Slim Jim time. We’d buy terrible, artery-clogging snacks and then explore, walking over little wooden bridges and climbing moss-covered rocks.

 

We’d breathe in deep of mountain laurel and the towering pine trees.

 

 

These were trips to inhale creation, and joy in a simpler way of life.

 

 

 

Without question, I’m looking forward to my big trip to Rome. It doesn’t take a lot, though, to make me happy where travel is concerned.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 11:00 am

    Wow Lori! Your photos are just breathtakingly beautiful and the photo of the messages to loved ones just breaks my heart.

    Can’t wait to see photos of Rome! How fun!

  2. March 19, 2010 11:29 am

    I also love to discover new places and often wish I could stop and take time to explore while driving through new and familiar places but we’re always in such a rush to get everywhere! Maybe it’s time to slow down some.

    Your words created wonderful mind-pictures to supplement the photography. All of it was beautiful.

  3. March 19, 2010 10:14 pm

    R>O>M>E>, REALLY? Real people actually go there? I REALLY need to get out! LOL I hope you have a totally awesome time!

    BTY – I LOVE these photos!!! 😀 And… I also love the way you have that cool white border around your photos in the collages you make. 😉 If it isn’t a hassle to explain, I’m just wondering if you don’t mind telling me how you do that. 🙂 If not – that’s OK; I’ll play around with it and figure it out.

    Have fun in Rome! 🙂

  4. Anaise permalink
    March 20, 2010 7:17 am

    The city leaves me cold (I’m originally from LA), but those country photos are worth enjoying over and over again–especially the one of the wildflowers with the mountains all misty in the background–so beautiful!

    They make me want to go camping.

  5. Lori permalink*
    March 20, 2010 2:54 pm

    Rachel–thanks, and I know–they were wrenching.

    Gerb–thanks…this is really one of the few trips that I’m able to take my time and enjoy the world outside the car. While I don’t mind moseying along, it usually feels like I’m just tugged along by everyone else’s urgency to get somewhere.

    Corine–haha! I’m laughing at your note. Yup…real people. I went to London and Paris ten years ago with a girlfriend, and now I’m tagging along with a friend’s family, because I’ve been wanting to go back to Europe but none of my friends are really able to do so right now. I’m lucky to find someone to tag along with, because I definitely don’t want to attempt that on my own.

    As far as the white border–it’s in Picasa when you make your collage, as one of the options. There’s a little slider bar and you just play with it to determine how much border you want. I think you can change the color, too.

    Anaise–been to LA, and felt like I was in a mucky whirlwind. Cannot imagine growing up or living there. There’s magic in a lot of cities, though…while I love living in the country, I enjoy a visit to the city every now and then. Thanks for the compliment. 🙂

  6. March 21, 2010 5:27 pm

    I’m back. 🙂 – Again… I’m so excited for you! It’s great that you have people to go with and get to go on this cool adventure! I’ll be anticipating future blogs about it.

    Thanks for the collage note. I realize I’m probably the only one who can say this… :O – but I haven’t used Picasa yet… I’ll try it out for the borders! 🙂 Thanks

  7. Lori permalink*
    March 23, 2010 12:49 pm

    Corine–definitely try Picasa. It’s so easy, and there’s so much you can do with it. And it’s free…just google picasa.com and that’ll get you started. 🙂

  8. March 23, 2010 1:30 pm

    Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

