Skip to content

Weekend Dish: Monkey Bread

March 22, 2010

Aaahh, monkey bread.

What could possibly be better than brown sugar, cinnamon and butter, caramelized over biscuits?

This dish has its inception in my childhood, when Mom would make it every Christmas for breakfast. I’ve continued that tradition, and sometimes break it out for other occasions. One such occasion was this Sunday’s breakfast fellowship.

This is an easy recipe, but you have to get over your fear of not measuring things if you happen to have such a fear.

First, dump a lot of sugar and a fair amount of cinnamon in a big Ziploc bag. DO NOT MEASURE. EYEBALL IT. Shake the bag to mix the sugar and cinnamon. Seal it first, so you don’t shake sugar all over your counter.

Get a four-pack of refrigerator biscuits and start quartering them with a pair of kitchen shears. This will take you a little while, so plan ahead.

Coat your biscuit quarters with cinnamon sugar. I usually take a few here and there, dunk ’em in the brown sugar and butter mixture, and then coat then with cinnamon sugar.

Oh, wait. I forgot to tell you about the brown sugar and butter. Melt two sticks of butter, and then mix in a couple of heaping tablespoons of brown sugar. Yum.

Then you can dunk a few biscuits here and there in that mixture, and then roll ’em in the cinnamon sugar.

Next, layer the biscuits in a Bundt pan. Just plop them on top of each other. When they’re all in there, pour the remaining butter mixture evenly over top. It’ll ooze through all of the little nooks and crannies, and turn into a very tasty caramel that binds the biscuits together. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 45 minutes.

Remove from oven and let it sit for ten minutes or so before overturning onto a platter. Pull apart and enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 9:51 pm

    Oh, my gosh! I’m going to have to make this for my son. He’ll never get over it, and I will be the most rockin’ momma for making it. And, yes, at this moment, the way to his almost-13-year-old heart happens to be through his stomach. 😉

  2. March 22, 2010 10:03 pm

    I haven’t made that in years…my brother introduced it to us and it was a smash hit. Thanks for the reminder of how much I love the stuff.

  3. Misty Cox permalink
    March 23, 2010 11:11 am

    painful. simply painful. but, thank you. i will need this later…when i am done trying to LOSE weight. 🙂

  4. March 23, 2010 11:54 am

    I’ve been wondering how to make this! THANK you for the recipe.

    I have to tell you that you FREAKED me out by not saying something about the butter and brown sugar first! LOL The OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) in me was freaking out, “Where did the butter and brown sugar come from? She didn’t say anything about the butter and brown sugar????” as I read it! I seriously need help! REEE-LAX, Cee, it’s just a recipe! LOL

  5. Lori permalink*
    March 23, 2010 1:02 pm

    Michele–if he likes it nearly as much as Lawson does, you will be Number 1 Momma forever… 😉

    Jason–if you haven’t had it for years, I’d say it’s about time you had some more… 😉

    Misty–lol. So sorry…I’ll try to post something that’s actually healthy next time.

    Cee–you have me rolling. I knew that brown sugar/butter thing was going to mess someone up…;)

  6. March 23, 2010 3:10 pm

    Lori, Don’t listen to Misty. 😀 This is fabulous!! LOVE monkey bread. I’m baking a ton for Levi’s baptism this Sat. I may have to make some of this too!! Yum!

    I lika lika the new look!

  7. Lori permalink*
    March 23, 2010 3:19 pm

    Rach–thanks–I’ve been playing around with it all this afternoon. Time for a change. 🙂 Happy baking and baptism–how exciting!

  8. March 23, 2010 4:31 pm

    I’ve made monkey bread several times before and the family loves it! I’ve also made it for the preschoolers when they are on the letter M for the week.
    BTW if you use the same recipe but deep fry the pieces in oil, you have Chinese dougnuts. Yum!

  9. Lori permalink*
    March 24, 2010 2:11 pm

    Bonnie–what a great idea! (Both of them, actually…)

Leave a Reply

