Skip to content

Letters From Home

April 22, 2010

Last night: 8:04 Virginia time, 2:04 a.m. Rome time.

Hi Mommy! The email worked!Smiley emoticon Have you heard of any flights that are coming to the united states that will get here before Saturday? I also thanked Mrs. Danaher for letting me email you back. Lawson misses you and loves you! Also, I do too. Lawson says he loves you and hopes that you got him a Webkinz, Grandma says to come home soon, and I say to buy me more stuff. Pat also wanted you to get her family a magnet that says Italy, and 2 key chains because they collect them. Grandma said that she will pay for them. Love You! MISS YOU! BYE!Smiley emoticon

Last night: 8:06 Virginia time, 2:06 a.m. Rome time.  

Good Night Mommy! everyone says goodnight!

This morning: 7:23 Virginia time, 1:23 p.m. Rome time.
 
Hi Mommy! did you get the last email that I sent? It is 7:11 here in Virginia. Have you heard of any flights that can get here before Saturday? If not, it’s O.K. We will be able to webcam it [her state meet] to you because Shaggy (Mia’s friend) can set all of it up and if that doesn’t work, he will video tape it and email it to you. Lawson says he loves you and that he hopes that you get back tomorrow or today. Grandma says get home soon. And I say get home soon, I miss you, and buy me more stuff. If you didn’t get my last email, then remember to get Pat a refrigerator magnet and two key chains. Grandma said that she would pay for it. Get home soon!
 
Love,
AutumnSmiley emoticon

It has been such a blessing to be at a hotel (sort of Americanized hotel, at that) that has a telephone and Internet. I have spoken to my children on the phone twice now in the past three days, heard their tiny voices boot-scooting it across the Atlantic straight to my ear and my heart. They have very little to say, struck by a sort of stage fright once they’re actually on the phone, but it keeps me going.

The emails, though, are priceless. Each day I receive (and send) dozens of emails back and forth between Autumn and Duane. It’s like having a conversation, minus the stage fright. I guess Autumn does infinitely better on paper first, too, like her momma.

I emailed Autumn back, “Tell Lawson I’m sorry to inform him that there are no Webkinz in Italy. However, I might cheat at the Cracker Barrell on the way home. I already have the keychains and magnet for the Clements; tell Grandma not to worry about the money–I was happy to get them. And you have enough “stuff.” ;)”

Duane asks, “HAVE YOU SEEN ANY HOT ITALIANS” (He writes everything in caps so he doesn’t have to bother with punctuation.)

I reply, “Well, of course. They dress really well all the time, and seem to be very well groomed.” Then, because I don’t want him to worry or feel bad, I add,  “But some of them stink.”

He replied, “I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU.”

Barbara, reading over my shoulder, released a heartfelt “awwwww” in perfect synchronization with my own.

I won’t tell you what I replied.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anaise permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:50 am

    Oh! Thank goodness for modern communication–what did people DO when they had to just wait and wonder?

    Those messages are priceless and precious.

    I’ve prayed for you, and will continue to do so.

    May you get home safely and soon.

  2. April 22, 2010 8:22 am

    awwwww! 😉 – …so sweet! 🙂 I’m so glad you have internet and phone!!!

  3. April 22, 2010 9:50 am

    Oh I hope you can get home soon. The agony of being stuck!! Your Autumn is a crack up though………buy me more stuff……….sounds like she is a very normal typical girl!!

  4. April 22, 2010 6:14 pm

    I saw AWWWWWWWW too!
    But hope you have a safe trip back, it sounds like they really miss you!

Leave a Reply

