Skip to content

Weekend Dish: Crock Pot Pot Roast

April 27, 2010

I’m baaaack! Still a little jetlagged after several days, and wanting to go to bed at nine and wake up at five, but I’m here. And rolling onward with all sorts of catch-up.

I was so excited to be back home, though, and so inspired by not having eaten hardly any processed food at all during my stay in Italy (except that one desperate evening at the airport McDonalds), that I couldn’t wait to cook a meal.

Our new Kroger opened up while I was away, and upon exploring I discovered these beautiful little fingerling potatoes (tiny baby potatoes in different varities–white, red, and Peruvian purple), along with a very tasty-looking green beans, wax beans, and carrot mixture. These seemed like a great start to a non-processed meal–just boil the potatoes and serve with butter and salt and pepper, and steam or boil the beans and carrots for a few minutes and do the same. I love fresh vegetables.

All that was left was to decide what to fix with them. A pot roast just sounded good, but I have this tiny problem. Out of all the things I cook very well, I have discovered over the past fifteen years that I can’t cook a pot roast to save my life. I’ve tried different people’s recipes, tried imitating my mom and my mother-in-law, and I nearly always end up with a tough, uninspiring hunk of meat.

No more. After doing some intense research, I have learned that the best cut of meat to purchase is a CHUCK ROAST…not a rump or sirloin tip, or whatever is most expensive. Buy CHUCK ROAST.

And then I mixed together 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 package of Lipton Onion Soup Mix (so, okay…just a little processed) and 1 and 1/4 cups of water, and poured it over top of that chuck roast in the crock pot. I used a high setting for 1 and 1/2 hours, because I was a little late getting started, and dropped it down to low for the remaining 5 hours.

It turned out to be the fall-off-your-fork, gravy steeped pot roast I’ve been craving. Delicious.

No pictures, because my card is overwhelmingly full right now with Italy and State Tumbling Competition photos (YES, I made it back in time for that, and only acted like a zombie in the latter part of the day…Autumn took second place in all three events, qualified in all three for Nationals, and even made mobilizing scores on Double Mini and Trampoline to move up to level 9…WOW! I’m proud of my girl. More on that later.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 7:13 am

    Glad you’re back safe and sound…

    When is dinner?

  2. April 27, 2010 10:18 am

    My brother in law is the king of meat. His dad was a butcher. They knew meat. I did not. I cremated meat.

    Several years ago my bro in law taught me how to cook a roast and I can now finally say…..I can cook a mean roast. Can’t cook much else…….but I can cook a roast. 😉

  3. April 27, 2010 5:34 pm

    Welcome back! I learned a long time ago that a chuck roast is great in a crock pot, a sirloin tip in the oven. Cook the chuck for a long time, the sirloin quick. But the BEST roast is the sirloin on the grill, yum, yum!

  4. April 27, 2010 11:05 pm

    Gads… now I’m hungry and its 10 p.m! It wonder if jerky would satisfy my craving for a big hunk of red meat- not likely. Your recipe sounds delish. Since my hubby loves nothing more than a good roast (except me), I’m going to try it.
    I’m so glad you are back on good ol’ American soil.

  5. Tony permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:49 pm

    Welcome Home! Glad to have you back in Forest.

  6. Anaise permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:08 am

    Welcome home! I’ve been thinking and thinking and thinking about you!

    I’m glad you’re home with your family again!

  7. Lori permalink*
    April 29, 2010 7:54 pm

    Jason–thx for that. Dinner usually falls right in between tumbling and bed-time…7-8…come on over 😉

    Rach–how fortunate you are to have a source like that–my bro in law is a history teacher, so not much help there unless you have a driving desire to know who died when and in which war. 😉 I’m just glad I can finally cook this stinking meat…

    Bonnie–ah-hah! I’ll have to try the sirloin in the oven…maybe that was the source of all my problems.

    Natalie-so sorry to give you cravings 😉 …can’t wait to hear about your kitchen victory lap after you cook this. It’s excellent on follow-up sandwiches, too.

    Tony–man, it’s good to be home! Hope you and yours are terrific.

    Anaise–thank you; I appreciate all those prayers you winged my way. I’m just settling in now, playing catch up. It’s CRAZY around here!

  8. May 2, 2010 9:37 am

    My favorite part about Italy (besides the leather jacket I bought) was definitely the food. And oh my gosh, the helpings were so big, too.

    Were you in Rome the whole time, or did you visit other cities? The only major city I visited with Venice. Can’t say I was too impressed with it, but maybe it’s better in the summer and with better company.

  9. Lori permalink*
    May 4, 2010 5:24 pm

    Hey, Linds! The gnocchi and the pizza were incredible. I am CRAVING both now. It’s like a loss. 😉 We went to Naples (ick–what a dirty city) and from there to Capri (and of course Pompeii). During the second week about the only place we could get a train out to was Orvieto, this little mountain town with an incredible cathedral and fabulous wine and ceramics. I wish we’d been able to get to Venice and Pisa, in particular, but oh, well…we saw a lot.

Leave a Reply

