Skip to content

His Daddy’s Son

May 20, 2010

We were in the check-out line at Food Lion, and I was digging through the dark depths of my very own personal black hole for my debit card when there came a tug on my jeans.

“Mom, can I get one of those little carts and spin it around and around and around in circles?”

I looked down at Lawson in consternation. Where does he come up with this stuff? “Er…that’s a negative, GhostRider,” I informed him and hastened my digging. Obviously, we needed to get out of the store.

Not an hour earlier we had been at Best Buy, the necessity for an HDMI cable driving me there when all I really wanted was to drive home. We had some episodes of Flashforward to catch up on, though, and I really didn’t want to be watching them on the computer. As we started walking inside, Lawson started begging me for a copy of Avatar.

“It’s really, really good, Mom!” he pled, steepling his hands and putting on the doggy eyes.

“How do you know?”

“‘Cause my friends told me so and the commercials are all BANG and then SWOOOP and there’s some DIVING through TREES and there are these BLUE people that I think are aliens, ‘cept they kind of look real so I don’t know–”

I sliced off his verbal grammatical folly by raising my hands in surrender. “Okay, okay…I’ll take a look at it.” I was going to buy it, anyway. It was a good movie.

As we finished our shopping and made our way through the parking lot to the car, Lawson clutched the Avatar DVD in ecstasies to his chest. “I’ll just be back here, Mom…making out with this Avatar movie,” he informed me as he climbed into the backseat.

I stifled a snort. Maybe I hadn’t heard correctly. “You’ll be back there doing what with that Avatar movie?”

“You know…making out. Like on a date. Hugging on it and stuff.”

Poor, molested Avatar. “Where on earth did you ever hear that expression?”

“You know…in movies and tv and stuff.”

O-Kay, then. Apparently my censoring of ICarly hadn’t done much good. I stifled the little knee-jerk guilt impulse that threatened. After all, my little brother’s all-time favorite movie scene was the infamous elevator-girly mag Yippy-Ki-Yay scene from Die Hard, witnessed when he was around 8. And he turned out okay.

Lawson wasn’t quite finished cracking me up. “You want to hear this song that I heard today?”

“Sure.” I love listening to him sing. He gets into it, craning his neck into odd positions and crooning like he’s on stage in front of thousands of screaming girls.

“When I was thir-ir-teen, I had my fir-ir-st lu-u-uv…she was the prettiest gir-ir-irl…I ever see-ee-een.”

‘”Oh. My. That’s…awe inspiring, Lawson.”

“Yeah, I thought so, too. ‘Cept it was by Justin Bieber and he sings like a girl.”

I love my boy, even if he is his daddy’s son.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 9:12 am

    Your Lawson is a hoot Lori. I about died laughing when he said he was going to sit in the back of the car and make out with Avatar!

    Delicious that one!

  2. Anaise permalink
    May 20, 2010 9:59 pm

    HAAAAAA! He’s funny!

    And he’s perfect . . . even if he does try to “make out” with Avatar.

  3. May 20, 2010 10:34 pm

    “Poor molested Avatar.”
    Ha! I LOVE it and your Lawson. He made my day brighter. Thanks for sharing him with us.

  4. May 21, 2010 11:49 am

    oh, that was just…precious. cept’ he sings like a girl. oh. oh. oh. all of it. just. lawson. that kid is gonna be famous.

  5. May 24, 2010 10:35 pm

    That kid cracks me up.

    And I didn’t think anyone else used the phrase, “That would be a negative, Ghost Rider.”

    I knew we were friends for a reason.

  6. Lori permalink*
    May 25, 2010 5:21 pm

    Rachel–he’s something, that’s for sure. I don’t know where he comes up with this stuff. Public school, I tell ya. 😉

    Anaise–he’s good for a laugh, huh? Although I do think it’s perhaps time for some “moral” education? 😉

    Natalie–hehehe…sometimes you just have to laugh…

    Misty–I’m sort of afraid that you may be right on that score…

    Jason–I don’t know where that ever came from! Is it Knight Rider? We say it (to Lawson!) all the time! (And I figured for sure that you’d ask to adopt him again…)

  7. Super Sarah permalink
    May 25, 2010 11:24 pm

    Loved that comment, plus the “poor molested Avatar” complimented it perfectly!!!

  8. June 5, 2010 7:24 pm

    I just sit and giggle when I read your posts about Lawson’s latest antics… Making out w/ the movie, huh? TOO funny! Gotta love it!

Leave a Reply

